HomeMusicPUP's new single 'Robot Writes A Love Song' is about 'a computer...

PUP’s new single ‘Robot Writes A Love Song’ is about ‘a computer being overwhelmed unto death by actual human emotions’

Punk rockers PUP are back with a brand new single called “Robot Writes A Love Song.” The track comes in celebration of the announcement of their new album, THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND, out April 1st via Little Dipper/Rise.

The upcoming record marks their highly anticipated fourth full-length. Today’s release, “Robot Writes A Love Song,” is a perfect preview of the record. It’s a catchy, rowdy PUP anthem. With gritty guitars and wailing vocal lines from frontman Stefan Babcock, this new tune is a quintessential PUP track with a lo-fi twist.

“Robot Writes A Love Song” was “written from the perspective of a computer being overwhelmed unto death by actual human emotions.”

Watch the video for “Robot Writes A Love Song” below.


“You can hear the band start to fall of the cliff, and because of that, I think this record is our truest and most genuine to date,” Babcock explains. “There is nothing more PUP than a slow and inevitable descent into self-destruction.”

Mixed and recorded by Interpol/The National collaborator Peter Katis, THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND features Illuminati Hotties’ Sarah Tuzdin, NOBRO’s Kathryn McCaughey, Casper Skulls’ Mel St-Pierre, and Remo Drive’s Erik Paulson.

In addition to “Robot Writes A Love Song,” the upcoming album features previously released single “Waiting.”

“There’s only so many times you can write a song about how much you hate yourself before you write a song about how fucking good you are at hating yourself,” Babcock adds. “I wanted to write about the horrible state of the world, but through a very specific and personal lens. It’s a lot of me trying to articulate my own coping with existential dread, hopelessness, and what I’ve called ‘Grim Reaping’—which is to me, the idea that we are all reaping what we sow, and right now we’re sowing some pretty fucked up shit.”

Check out the tracklist for THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND below.


01 – “Four Chords”
02 – “Totally Fine”
03 – “Robot Writes A Love Song”
04 – “Matilda”
05 – “Relentless”
06 – “Four Chords Pt. II: Five Chords”
07 – “Waiting”
08 – “Habits”
09 – “Cutting Off The Corners”
10 – “Grim Reaping”
11 – “Four Chords Pt. III: Diminishing Returns”
12 – “PUPTHEBAND Inc. Is Filing For Bankruptcy”

[Read More] Metallica release ‘Blacklist’ benefit album with covers from Mac DeMarco, PUP, Phoebe Bridgers, more

Most Popular