HomeMusicRadiohead and Sons of Kemet offshoot The Smile share new single 'The...

Radiohead and Sons of Kemet offshoot The Smile share new single ‘The Smoke’

The Smile, made up of Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner, have shared a new song, “The Smoke.”

The track comes in anticipation of their livestreamed concerts this weekend. The Smile had debuted “The Smoke” at Glastonbury’s Live at Worthy Farm webcast last May, but now it’s gotten an official release.

“The Smoke” is a bass-driven tune that comes accompanied by some killer drum lines and dreamy brass. Yorke’s vocals take the lead as he sings lines like, “Let go of our troubles/ and do our caress.” The track comes accompanied by a visualizer on 16 mm film by Mark Jenkin.

Watch the visualizer for “The Smoke” below.

This weekend, The Smile are playing three live shows in just 16 hours. They’ll be performing at Magazine London, while streaming the shows around the world. Director Paul Dugdale will helm the shows, which air for 48 hours. You can purchase tickets for the livestream here.

Captured by award-winning director Paul Dugdale and produced by Drift, the performances will be a balance of a live show, a livestream, and a cinematic film.

In addition to “The Smoke,” The Smile will likely play previously released and performed singles like “You Will Never Work In Television Again” and “Free in the Knowledge.”

The broadcasts will be available to ticketholders as unlimited on-demand replays for 48 hours from Sunday, January 30th at 9:00 a.m. EST.

Check out the broadcast times below.

The Smile Broadcast Times:

BROADCAST #1: Saturday, January 29th at 3:00 pm EST

BROADCAST #2: Saturday, January 29th at 8:00 pm EST

BROADCAST #3: Sunday, January 30th at 6:00 am EST

Most Popular