HomeNew ReleasesAlbum StreamsRadiohead, Sons Of Kemet offshoot The Smile share debut album 'A Light...

Radiohead, Sons Of Kemet offshoot The Smile share debut album ‘A Light for Attracting Attention’

Made up of Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons Of Kemet’s Tom Skinner, The Smile have shared their debut album, A Light For Attracting Attention, out now via XL.

The album is a pretty stunning collection, featuring performances from the London Contemporary Orchestra. It also boasts some amazing contributions from UK jazz player Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Jason Yarde, Robert Stillman, and more.

The record opens up with Thom Yorke’s lyricism at the lead, delivering lines like, “we are the same.” Revolving primarily around Yorke and Greenwood’s playful vocal and guitar riffs, with the driving force of Skinner’s percussion, the seasoned album channels some Radiohead sounds, while paving its own sonic territory entirely.

Stream A Light For Attracting Attention below.


A Light For Attracting Attention Tracklist:

01 – “The Same”
02 – “The Opposite”
03 – “You Will Never Work In Television Again”
04 – “Pana-vision”
05 – “The Smoke”
06 – “Speech Bubbles”
07 – “Thin Thing”
08 – “Open The Floodgates”
09 – “Free In The Knowledge”
10 – “A Hairdryer”
11 – “Waving A White Flag”
12 – “We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings”
13 – “Skrting On The Surface”
From the art-rock, jazzy sounds of “Thin Thing,” to the bass-driven groove of “The Smoke” to the ominous, piano-driven melodies of “Pana-vision,” the record weaves in and out of genres with ease.

The 13 track album boasts a whole slew of previously released singles, including “Thin Thing,” “Pana-vision,” “Skrting on the Surface,” “Free in the Knowledge,” “You Will Never Work in Television Again,” and “The Smoke.”

Recorded with producer Nigel Godrich, A Light For Attracting Attention was mastered by Bob Ludwig.

Most Popular