HomeMusicRed Hot Chili Peppers share tender ballad 'Not the One'

Red Hot Chili Peppers share tender ballad ‘Not the One’

Red Hot Chili Peppers have shared a new single, “Not the One.”

The track serves as a preview to their forthcoming album, Unlimited Love, out April 1st via Warner. “Not the One” is pretty different than most recent Red Hot Chili Peppers releases. It’s far more tender than most recent singles, making for a spacey ballad with atmospheric keys and slide guitar.

Lrically, “Not the One” is all about trying to be someone that another person imagines you are. Ultimately, the track sees Red Hot Chili Peppers acknowledging that you can never be someone’s projected fantasy.

Listen to “Not the One” below.

Unlimited Love not only marks the band’s first album since 2016’s The Getaway, but it’s their first with John Frusciante since 2006’s Stadium Arcadium. You can really hear Frusciante’s signature guitar sound on today’s preview, “Black Summer.”

In addition to “Not the One,” Unlimited Love features previously released singles “Black Summer” and “Poster Child.”

“Our only goal is to get lost in the music,” Red Hot Chili Peppers explain. “We spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, honing our craft and showing up for one another, to make the best album we could. Our antennae attuned to the divine cosmos, we were just so damn grateful for the opportunity to be in a room together, and, once again, try to get better. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, jamming freely, and arranging the fruit of those jams with great care and purpose. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies had us enrapt.”

Check out the tracklist for Unlimited Love below.

Unlimited Love Tracklist:

01 – “Black Summer”
02 – “Here Ever After”
03 – “Aquatic Mouth Dance”
04 – “Not the One”
05 – “Poster Child”
06 – “The Great Apes”
07 – “It’s Only Natural”
08 – “She’s a Lover”
09 – “These Are the Ways”
10 – “Whatchu Thinkin’”
11 – “Bastards of Light”
12 – “White Braids & Pillow Chair”
13 – “One Way Traffic”
14 – “Veronica”
15 – “Let ‘Em Cry”
16 – “The Heavy Wing”
17 – “Tangelo”

Most Popular