HomeMusicRichard Ashcroft shares intimate version of ‘Bittersweet Symphony,’ announces ‘Acoustic Hymns Vol....

Richard Ashcroft shares intimate version of ‘Bittersweet Symphony,’ announces ‘Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1’

Richard Ashcroft, frontman of British rock band The Verve, has shared a re-recorded version of the iconic “Bittersweet Symphony”.

Digging through the archive, Ashcroft is recording acoustic renditions of some of both his solo work and The Verve classics. Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1 is set for release on October 29th via via RPA/BMG. The record was produced by Ashcroft himself along with Chris Potter.

His first release, of course none other than the 1997 hit “Bittersweet Symphony” will be the album opener. The re-recorded version is stripped-back and intimate. The slowed-down vocals are bold and refined, successfully keeping the heart and soul of the song alive.

Listen to “Bittersweet Symphony” below.

Additionally, the acoustic collection will feature Oasis’ Liam Gallagher on “C’mon People (We’re Making It Now)”, a single from Ashcroft’s 2000 debut solo album Alone With Everybody.

Most recently, Richard Ashcroft has announced details of four intimate shows in London as well as Liverpool that are promoted as “an acoustic evening of his classic songs”. Three of the four are sold out already.

Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1 Tracklist:

01 – 
Bittersweet Symphony
02 – A Song For The Lovers
03 – Sonnet
04 – C’mon People (We’re Making It Now)
05 – Weeping Willow
06 – 
Lucky Man
07 – 
This Thing Called Life
08 – 
Space & Time
09 – Velvet Morning
10 – Break The Night With Colour
11 – 
One Day
12 – The Drugs Don’t Work

Most Popular