HomeMusicSharon Van Etten announces anniversary edition of 'epic' featuring Fiona Apple, IDLES,...

Sharon Van Etten announces anniversary edition of ‘epic’ featuring Fiona Apple, IDLES, Courtney Barnett, more

Last year, Sharon Van Etten’s epic turned 10, and this year she’ll be celebrating its now 11th anniversary with an equally epic reissue.

The album will be reissued as a double anniversary edition called epic Ten, with the first half featuring the original album and the second featuring some pretty amazing artists covering it. Now, Van Etten will be sharing another cover from the collection every Thursday, and this week we’ve gotten Big Red Machine’s cover of “A Crime.”

epic Ten will feature covers from Fiona Apple, Courtney Barnett with Vagabon, Big Red Machine (Aaron Dessner and Justin Vernon), Lucinda Williams, IDLES, Shamir, and St. Panther.

Listen to Big Red Machine’s cover of “A Crime” below.

“Sharon is one of my favorite songwriters and I’ve been very lucky to get to collaborate with her many times over the years,” The National’s Dessner explains. “Recording ‘A Crime’ with Justin, more than 10 years after we covered ‘Love More’ at Music Now with my brother Bryce – and thinking about all our shared memories – it felt like coming full circle. It’s an honor to be able to pay tribute to Sharon and her incredible songs. We felt like the door should be about to fall off the hinges of this version and I think it sounds like that.”

epic represents a crossroads for me as an artist,” Van Etten adds of the album. “Going from intern to artist at Ba Da Bing, from solo folk singer to playing with a band for the first time and beginning to play shows on tour where people showed up. I am in awe of the artists who wanted to participate in celebrating my anniversary and reissue, from young inspiring musicians, to artists who took me under their wing, who I met on tour, and to artists I’ve looked up to since I was a teenager. Each one of these artists continue to influence my writing and provide a sense of camaraderie during this new era of sharing music.”

Check out the tracklist for the covers album portion of epic Ten below.
epic Covers Tracklist:

01 – “A Crime” – Big Red Machine
02 – “Peace Signs” – IDLES
03 – “Save Yourself” – Lucinda Williams
04 – “DsharpG” – Shamir
05 – “Don’t Do It” – Courtney Barnett (ft. Vagabon)
06 – “One Day” – St. Panther
07 – “Love More” – Fiona Apple
Van Etten will also be performing a livestream with her band on April 16th and 17th, with proceeds going to Zebulon LA. Additionally, a short documentary on the making of epic alongside a tribute to the venue will air before the performance.

Most Popular