HomeMusicSilla and Rise explore the symbol of the raven on new collaboration...

Silla and Rise explore the symbol of the raven on new collaboration with Deirdre Dooley ‘Tulukkat’

Ottawa and Nunavut-based ensemble Silla and Rise are back with a new collaboration with Deirdre Dooley, “Tulukkat.”

The track serves as the third single from their forthcoming album, Silarjuaq, out October 29th via Balanced Records. “Tulukkat” is the plural of the Inuktitut word tulugaq, which means “raven.” This stunning new single brings the symbol of the raven to life. The accompanying video is just as captivating, filmed and edited by Mike Scherling on the Ottawa River.

“As a mediator between life and death in both Celtic and Inuit traditions this song blends the Irish Bodhran drum played by Deirdre Dooley with the raven’s call throat song which was formed after many years of practice by Charlotte Qamaniq,” Silla and Rise explain. “The song is dedicated to Qamaniq’s father Marcel Mason who was of Irish descent, and adopted into the Qamaniq family of Iglulik, Nunavut.”

Watch the video for “Tulukkat” below.

Silarjuaq draws its name from the Inuktitut word for Universe. “Sila” has a broad definition, encorporating concepts of weather, the land, the spirit of the atmosphere, cunning, and intelligence. The affix “-juaq” means “large,” thus alluding to the larger structure of the cosmos.

Today’s preview, “Tulukkat,” follows the release of “Anirniq.” Both of which appear on Silarjuaq.

Silarjuaq sees Silla and Rise continuing on the powerful trajectory of their career. Together, they blend the Inuit throat singing of Silla with the global dancefloor mixology of Rise Ashen. The album will pay homage to Inuit culture, the Inuit land and its connection to spirituality.

Check out the tracklist for Silarjuaq below.

Silarjuaq Tracklist:

01 – “Nutarannut [For the Children] (feat. Tanya Tagaq)”
02 – “Silarjuaq”
03 – “How Lucky We Are (feat. Tanya Tagaq)”
04 – “Avataanut (feat. Deirdre Dooley)”
05 – “Tulukkat (feat. Deirdre Dooley)”
06 – “Ijiraq [Hide and Seek] (feat. Tanya Tagaq)”
07 – “Iparauti (feat. Theland Kicknosway)”
08 – “Supijuq (feat. Risten Anin)”
09 – “Anirniq”
10 – “Garden Variety”
11 – “Boogity (feat. Theland Kicknosway)”
12 – “Atangi (feat. Risten Anine and Theland Kicknosway)”
13 – “Ikkii”
14 – “Pandemonium”
15 – “Ikaaqqaq [The Crossing] (feat. Annie Aningmiuq)”

[Read More] Tanya Tagaq announces new album ‘Tongues,’ shares video for title track
Indigenous artist and activist Jayli Wolf overcomes her inner demons on new single ‘Lead Me’
Lead photo courtesy of Tangent.

Most Popular