HomeMusicSloan release hardcore punk covers album 'This One's an Original' on vinyl

Sloan release hardcore punk covers album ‘This One’s an Original’ on vinyl

Canadian alt-rockers Sloan have announced a limited edition vinyl release called This One’s an Original.

Back in 2013, Sloan shared a 7-inch that served as a tribute to Chris Murphy and Patrick Pentland’s hardcore roots. That collection featured two original tunes: “Jenny” and “It’s In You, It’s In Me.” The 7-inch also came accompanied by a digital covers album. On the digital record, Sloan covered hardcore hits from 7Seconds, Descendents, Circle Jerks, Minor Threat, and more. The special edition translucent vinyl is limited to just 1,200 copies.

Now, both of those collections are being combined into one vinyl album, This One’s an Original. The limited edition Sloan release is out now via Murderecords label. To preview the album, the band has shared their 2013 original, “Jenny.”

Listen to “Jenny” below.

Check out the tracklist for This One’s an Original below.

Sloan’s Chris Murphy explains:

“The phrase ‘This one’s an original,’ is oft said by bands that have the audacity to sneak their own songs into their repertoire of crowd-pleasing covers; sometimes sheepishly, sometimes defiantly. I certainly heard it said a lot – and would have said it a few times myself – during the punk/hardcore shows in Halifax in the mid-to-late ’80s.”

“In 2013, Patrick [Pentland] and I convinced Jay [Ferguson] and Andrew [Scott] to record two original songs in the style of American hardcore,” Murphy continues. “And while we were at it record 12 more hardcore covers from the ’80s (and 1979, nerds!).”

Check out the tracklist for the new Sloan vinyl release below.

This One’s an Original Tracklist:


01 – “It’s in You, It’s In Me” (Sloan)
02 – “Gas Chamber” (Angry Samoans)
03 – “Filler” (Minor Threat)
04 – “Gimme Sopor” (Angry Samoans)
05 – “Bully” (7 Seconds)
06 – “Retrospect” (Gray Matter)
07 – “Catalina” (The Descendents)


01 – “Jenny” (Sloan)
02 – “Fountains” (The Nils)
03 – “This Is the Angry, Pt. 2” (7 Seconds)
04 – “Hot Cars” (Angry Samoans)
05 – “Nervous Breakdown” (Black Flag)
06 – “Wasted” (Circle Jerks)
07 – “We’re Only Gonna Die” (Bad Religion)

[Read More] Sloan release vinyl compilation ‘B Sides Win Vol. 2 1998-2001’
Watch: Sloan unearth footage of their first-ever show

Most Popular