HomeMusicSoccer Mommy shares brooding, distorted new single 'Unholy Affliction'

Soccer Mommy shares brooding, distorted new single ‘Unholy Affliction’

Soccer Mommy has shared a bold new single, “Unholy Affliction.”

The gritty new tune comes from her forthcoming album, Sometimes, Forever, out June 24th. The brooding new tune comes packed with distorted instrumentals and powerfully unnerving melodies. On “Unholy Affliction,” Soccer Mommy delivers lines like, “I’m barely a person.”

Soccer Mommy always hones in on ’90s sounds, but on “Unholy Affliction,” she leans toward the darker, grungy sounds. Today’s release feels reminiscent of artists like Nine Inch Nails or Garbage.

Listen to “Unholy Affliction” below.

Out June 24th, Sometimes, Forever was produced by Oneohtrix Point Never’s Daniel Lopatin. Serving as the follow-up to Color Theory, the album sees Soccer Mommy cementing her signature sound. Drawing on the past with a modern experimental twist, this album is sure to be packed with some melancholic anthems.

In addition to “Unholy Affliction,” Sometimes, Forever features the previously released “Shotgun.” “Shotgun” is a pretty different sound than today’s release. With layered, airy guitars and dreamy vocals, “Shotgun” channels the sounds of early 2000s pop rock. Lyrically, “Shotgun” draws parallels between romance and a chemical high (without the comedown). The accompanying video, directed by Kevin Lombardo, it comes packed with gritty, colourful shots of Soccer Mommy performing in a picturesque bedroom.

The record is partially inspired by the push and pull between desiring to make art that’s meaningful, while also pursuing it as a career.

Pre-order Sometimes, Forever here or check out the tracklist below.

Sometimes, Forever Tracklist:

01 – “Bones”
02 – “With U”
03 – “Unholy Affliction”
04 – “Shotgun”
05 – “newdemo”
06 – “Darkness Forever”
07 – “Don’t Ask Me”
08 – “Fire in the Driveway”
09 – “Following Eyes”
10 – “Feel It All The Time”
11 – “Still”

Most Popular