Spoon Detail Upcoming Record ‘Hot Thoughts’

New full-length arrives March 17

New music from Spoon is set to arrive March 17 via Matador Records and the band has unveiled the album artwork and track list for Hot Thoughts.

The follow-up to 2014’s They Want My Soul will be available on both black and purple vinyl. Spoon tabbed Dave Fridmann to produce the record.

Hot Thoughts is the bravest, most sonically inventive work of Spoon’s career,” reads a statement on Matador Records shop site.

“With all due respect to earlier efforts that have made the quintet both critically acclaimed and a commercial contender, preconceptions about this band are about to be obliterated. That’s not to say ‘Hot Thoughts’ doesn’t have a requisite supply of infectious earworms but there’s a lyrical bent that’s as carnal as it’s crafty, and a newfound sense of sonic exploration that results in the genresmasher Spoon have flirted with in the past but not fully consummated.”

Hot Thoughts:

1. Hot Thoughts
2. WhisperI’lllistentohearit
3. Do I Have to Talk You Into It
4. First Caress
5. Pink Up
6. Can I Sit Next to You
7. I Ain’t The One
8. Tear It Down
9. Shotgun
10. Us

Check out Spoon’s fantastic 2014 Black Box Session below.