Stream: Maggie Rogers releases ‘Notes from the Archive: Recordings 2011 – 2016’

Featuring early collections and six previously unheard tracks

After collaborating with Phoebe Bridgers on a cover of Goo Goo Dolls’ “Iris,” Maggie Rogers has unearthed some older releases and previously unreleased tracks for her new album Notes from the Archive: Recordings 2011 – 2016.

The compilation features Rogers’ early collections Blood Ballet and The Echo in edition to six previously unheard tracks like “Together,” “Steady Now,” and “New Song.” The tracks feel quite different than that of her debut formal release Heard It In A Past Life, almost moving toward a lo fi, shoegazey instrumental. The tracks are in reverse chronological order “because that’s how I remember it,” Rogers says.

“I started writing songs as a way to process and document my life,” Rogers says in an “Intro” she released a while back. “A few years later, music production became a way for me to hear those songs alive and in full form in the world. This record is about looking back on ten years of work. It’s about looking to the future by honouring the past.”

Stream Notes from The Archive: Recordings 2011 – 2016 below.