HomeMusicMusic NewsStrumbellas, BADBADNOTGOOD Among Socan Songwriting Prize Finalists

Strumbellas, BADBADNOTGOOD Among Socan Songwriting Prize Finalists

Socan’s annual songwriting prize is selected each year from a list of top 10 nominees. The prize is awarded to an English and a French emerging musician who demonstrate outstanding songwriting. The title is decided each year by the public.

Last year, Dear Rouge took home the songwriting award for “I Heard I Had”, and took home the $10,000 prize.

Take a look at the official press release and top 10 list for 2016, announced earlier this week:

The 10 English and French finalists were each determined by independent panels of 15 music-industry experts who were asked to nominate two songs from any musical genre that they felt were the best written in the last 12 months by emerging songwriters – defined as songwriters who have released no more than two full albums (excluding EPs) up until the end of the eligibility period (see Rules for complete criteria). All of the nominated songs were then compiled, reviewed and voted on by each panel as a whole to decide the final 10 nominees. SOCAN does not have a role in determining nominees or winners.

The 10 English songs nominated this year:
– “Black Body” – written by Benjamin Addy, Renee Wisdom; performed by Spek Won feat.Shi Wisdom.

– “Dead or Alive” – written by Jahmarie Adams, Michael Lantz; performed by Jazz Cartier.

– “Desire” – written by Kathleen Monks, Benjamin Reinhartz, James Rowlinson, Elizabeth Ball;
performed by Dilly Dally.

– “How Could You Babe” – written by Tobias Jesso Jr; performed by Tobias Jesso Jr.; published by Universal Music Publishing.

– “Julia” – written by Matthew Mcleod; performed by Fast Romantics.

– “No hurry” – written by Terra Lightfoot; performed by Terra Lightfoot; published by CCS Rights Management Corp.

– “Paradise” – written by Ashton Simmonds, Matthew Burnett, Jordan Evans, Alexander Sowinski, Matthew Tavares, Leland Whitty, Chester Hansen, Keaven Yazdani; performed by Daniel Ceasar feat. BADBADNOTGOOD, Sean Leon; published by Reclusive Music Inc., Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd. Canada, Robinson Heart Publishing.

– “Pen to Paper” – written by Sean Graham, Thomas “Tawgs” Salter; performed by Modern Space; published by Sony/ATV.

– “Spirits” – written by Simon Ward, Jeremy Drury, Jonathan Hembrey, Darryl G.J. James, Brian Leigh Pickett, David Ritter, Joanne Setterington, Isabel Cunningham Ritchie; performed by The Strumbellas; published by Domino Double Nine.

– “Wendell Walker” – written by Andy Shauf; performed by Andy Shauf; published by Peer International Ltd. (Canada), Music of the Mothership.

For two weeks, from June 9-23, 2016, SOCAN invites music fans to vote for their favourite song from the nominees lot by visiting www.socansongwritingprize.ca or through Twitter using the hashtag #mySSPvote and identifying the performer’s name in the tweet. Fans can vote once daily through each platform for each of the English and French prize competitions.

The winning songs are planned to be announced the week of July 4, 2016.
Winners will receive $10,000 in cash, a choice between two brands of Godin Guitars (a Seagull Artist Studio CW guitar or Godin 5th Avenue Jazz guitar), a Yamaha PSR-S970 keyboard, and a $500 gift card from Long & McQuade.

The 10 song finalists for the 2016 Prix de la chanson SOCAN, the Francophone counterpart to the SOCAN Songwriting Prize:

– “Avalanches” – written and performed by Félix Dyotte; published by Coyote Records.

– “Avant de disparaître” – written and performed by Claude Bégin; published by Coyote Records.

– “Crystel” – written and performed by Philippe Brach; published by Equispec Les Ed.

– “Igloo” – written and performed by Safia Nolin.

– “Les coûteaux à beurre” – written by Melanie Boulay. Jean Sebastien Houle; performed by Les
soeurs Boulay; published by Dare to Care Les Ed.

– “Les échardes” – written and performed by performed by Charlotte Cardin; published by Corico Arts Inc.

– “Olympe” – written and performed by Rosie Valland; published by Ambiances Ambigues and David Murphy et Cie.

– “Placebo” – written by Alexe Gaudreault, John Nathaniel; performed by Alexe Gaudreault; published by John Nathaniel Prod Inc.

Most Popular