HomeNew ReleasesLive PerformancesSugarplum Fairies sing of a femme fatale on cinematic new single 'Sugarfree...

Sugarplum Fairies sing of a femme fatale on cinematic new single ‘Sugarfree (2021)’

LA-based Viennese dream pop outfit Sugarplum Fairies have shared a video for their new single, “Sugarfree (2021).”

The track comes from their forthcoming album, Altar Songs 1998-2021, which sees the band reimagining their older tunes. This version of “Sugarfree” is a dreamy reimagination, featuring late Mazzy Star drummer Keith Mitchell. The cinematic track comes packed with lush instrumentals with a sort of folk-noir edge. The accompanying video is full of footage from the archives of iconic Viennese visual artist Mercedes Helnwein.

“‘Sugarfree’ is about that femme fatale that shows up at the end of your birthday party and not only steals the show but also your boyfriend,” frontwoman Silvia Ryder explains.

Watch the video for “Sugarfree (2021)” below.

Altar Songs 1998-2021 is out on December 3rd via Starfish Records. It serves as a snapshot of Sugarplum Fairies’ growth since they began in 1998. Back then, they were a husband and wife duo. After a personal and creative breakup in 2013, the band became a rotating artistic collective led by Ryder.

In addition to “Sugarfree (2021),” Altar Songs 1998-2021 also features the previously released “Sandy Says 2021 (ft. Sid Simons).”

The new album traces Sugarplum Fairies’ journey, as they weaved in and out of shoegaze and jangly guitar pop. Altar Songs 1998-2021 features collaborations with original Uncle Tupelo/Wilco drummer and producer Ken Coomer, late Mazzy Star drummer Keith Mitchell, and many more.

Check out the tracklist for Altar Songs 1998-2021 below.

Altar Songs 1998-2021 Tracklist:

01 – “Sugarfree 2021”
02 – “Velcro Girl”
03 – “Heart Hell 2021 (feat. Sid Simons)”
04 – “A Story”
05 – “Tears”
06 – “96 Dreams (feat. Johnny Ruby)”
07 – “Malta Smile 55”
08 – “Sandy Says 2021 (feat. Sid Simons)”
09 – “Touchdown or Fly”
10 – “Dedeaux Fields”
11 – “Fade Away”
12 – “Jaguar Jackson”
13 – “Hold On To Me”
14 – “St. Andrew’s Place”
15 – “Polaroid”

[Read More] Listen: Clever Girls share gritty new dream pop track ‘Saturn’
Favours share new dreampop anthem ‘Right Back’

Most Popular