HomeMusicSuperorganism collaborate with Stephen Malkmus, Gen Hoshino, and Pi Ja Ma on...

Superorganism collaborate with Stephen Malkmus, Gen Hoshino, and Pi Ja Ma on new single ‘Into The Sun’

Superorganism have shared a video for their new collaboration with Pavement’s Stephen Malkmus, Gen Hoshino, and Pi Ja Ma “Into The Sun.”

The track comes from their forthcoming album, World Wide Pop, which is out on July 15th via Domino Records. “Into The Sun” is almost like a thesis statement for the forthcoming album, which is all about connectedness and experimentation. The accompanying video was directed by AEVA, with 2D animation, illustration and compositing by Neirin Best and 3D animation from Nicholas Barnes.

“The whole record is all about combining different worlds and scales, so it was a real thrill to be able to mix Gen into a track with Malkmus and Pi Ja Ma,” bandmember Harry explains. “It’s a carefree song, somewhat about being in your own bubble, so bringing those French, American and Japanese artists into that world reconnects the SuperO universe with these other bubbles – a bit of a multiverse!”

Watch the video for “Into The Sun” below.


More about “Into The Sun”:

“It all came together super naturally, a cute little lovebug song moment,” Orono adds.

“The video for ‘Into The Sun’ stemmed from the lyric about being a fruit fly, watching the world go by, whilst nature and time flow by around you,” Harry says of the clip. “We liked the idea that the seed planted by one person can grow into a tree that is enjoyed by another, and that the fruit of that tree provides the seed of the next. Gen Hoshino as a fly buzzing around cracks me up too.”

In addition to “Into The Sun,” World Wide Pop features the previously released “Teenager,” “On & On,” “crushed.zip,” and “It’s Raining.”

Check out the tracklist for World Wide Pop below.

World Wide Pop Tracklist:

01 – “Black Hole Baby”
02 – “World Wide Pop”
03 – “On & On”
04 – “Teenager (feat. CHAI & Pi Ja Ma)”
05 – “It’s Raining (feat. Stephen Malkmus & Dylan Cartlidge)”
06 – “Flying”
07 – “Solar System (feat. CHAI & Boa Constrictors)”
08 – “Into The Sun (feat. Gen Hoshino, Stephen Malkmus & Pi Ja Ma)”
09 – Put Down Your Phone”
10 – “crushed.zip”
11 – “Oh Come On”
12 – “Don’t Let The Colony
13 – Everything Falls Apart

Most Popular