HomeMusicTallies share video for new single 'Hearts Underground,' announce forthcoming album 'Patina'

Tallies share video for new single ‘Hearts Underground,’ announce forthcoming album ‘Patina’

Toronto’s Tallies have shared a video for their new single, “Hearts Underground.” The track comes on the heels of the announcement of their sophomore album, Patina, out July 29th via Kanine Records, Hand Drawn Dracula, and Bella Union.

The indie pop anthem boasts jangle pop guitars, a gritty solo, and dreamy vocal lines. Lyrically, “Hearts Undergound” is all about self-sabotage in personal relationships. Directed by Justis Krar, the accompanying video is entirely made up of public domain footage.

“This song is that little voice that kicks yourself,” Tallies singer Sarah Cogan explains. “The voice that says, ‘why’d you do that?’ In this case, it was about how it holds me back, sometimes for the better. It’s about self-sabotage. Sometimes you wish this little voice would speak up sooner and not just after the fact. I wrote a song about that little voice that I’ve heard my whole life; it’s a reflection on times when I’ve held back too much or when I wish I’d held back more.”

Watch the video for “Hearts Underground” below.

Produced by Holy Fuck’s Graham Walsh, the new album was a true labor of love. After being delayed due to the pandemic, the record ended up being extremely rewarding after Cocteau Twins’ Simon Raymonde signed Tallies to Bella Union. Ultimately, Raymonde provided “a light at the end of a dark tunnel,” Cogan says.

In addition to “Hearts Underground,” Patina features previously released singles “No Dreams of Fayres,” “Wound Up Tight,” and “Heavens Touch.”

Check out the tracklist for Patina below.

Patina Tracklist:

01 – “No Dreams of Fayres”
02 – “Hearts Underground”
03 – “Wound Up Tight”
04 – “Catapult”
05 – “Heavens Touch”
06 – “Special”
07 – “Memento”
08 – “Am I The Man”
09 – “When Your Life is Not Over”

Most Popular