HomeMusicTanya Tagaq releases animated video for new single 'Teeth Agape,' brings forward...

Tanya Tagaq releases animated video for new single ‘Teeth Agape,’ brings forward album release date to this month

Tanya Tagaq has shared an animated video for her new track, “Teeth Agape.” Alongside the song, Tagaq has announced a new release date for her forthcoming album, Tongues.

Tongues was initally set for release , but now it’ll come out later this month on January 21st. In addition to “Teeth Agape,” Tongues features previously released singles “Colonizer” and the title track. Today’s release is an entrancing track with growls, gnashes, and spoken word from Tagaq. The accompanying video, animated by David Seitz, is a captivating, dark clip following a pack of wolves.

“Never underestimate the power of the mothers,” a press release explains. “From forthcoming album Tongues, produced by Saul Williams and co-produced by Gonjasufi, ‘Teeth Agape’ makes a promise to protect.”

Watch the video for “Teeth Agape” below.

Tongues “speaks not to horrors and crisis, as previous Tanya Tagaq albums wordlessly, powerfully encircled, but directly of these things,” a press release explains. “Tongues is Tagaq at her most explicit and specific.” The album will also balance industrial, electronic sounds with poetic passages from Tagaq’s bestselling mythobiography, Split Tooth.

Saul Williams produced Tongues and Gonjasufi mixed it. The forthcoming 10-track collection will serve as a sort of guide for inner and outer revolution. “It is a triumph of strength and intelligence that invites the listener to join her in a personal victory over colonization, over those who take without consent,” a press release continues.

Check out the tracklist for Tongues below.

Tongues Tracklist:

01 – “In Me”
02 – “Tongues”
03 – “Colonizer”
04 – “Teeth Agape”
05 – “Birth”
06 – “I Forgive Me”
07 – “Nuclear”
08 – “Do Not Fear Love”
09 – “Earth Monster”
10 – “Colonizer (Tundra Mix)”

Most Popular