HomeMusicThe Beths jump of a bridge during band practice in video for...

The Beths jump of a bridge during band practice in video for ‘Knees Deep’

The Beths are back with a video for their new single, “Knees Deep.”

The track comes from their forthcoming album, Expert In A Dying Field, out September 16th via Carpark Records. “Knees Deep” was actually a last-minute contribution to the album, but it features a pretty killer guitar line from guitarist Jonathan Pearce. The accompanying video follows the band heading to band practice, as members sneak out to jump off of a bridge.

“I’m the kind of person who wants to go swimming, but takes like ten minutes to get all the way into the cold water, slowly and painfully,” frontwoman Liz Stokes explains. “I hate this about myself, and am kind of envious of people who can just jump straight in the deep end. In a shocking twist, this is also a metaphor?! For how I wish I was the kind of person who was brave and decisive instead of cautious and scared.”

Watch the video for “Knees Deep” below.
 


 
Stokes’ songwriting takes a turn on this new album, landing “somewhere between being a novelist and a documentarian,” according to a release. “The songs collected here are autobiographical, but they’re also character sketches of relationships – platonic, familial, romantic – and more importantly, their aftermaths. The shapes and ghosts left in absences.”

Serving as their third album to date, Expert In A Dying Field sees The Beths channeling their live energy into a record.

In addition to “Knees Deep,” Expert In A Dying Field features the previously released title track and “Silence Is Golden.”

Pre-order Expert In A Dying Field here or check out the tracklist below.
 

Expert In A Dying Field Tracklist:

01 – “Expert In A Dying Field”
02 – “Knees Deep”
03 – “Silence Is Golden”
04 – “Your Side”
05 – “I Want To Listen”
06 – “Head In The Clouds”
07 – “Best Left”
08 – “Change In The Weather”
09 – “When You Know You Know”
10 – “A Passing Rain”
11 – “I Told You That I Was Afraid”
12 – “2am”

The Beths have also announced a 2023 North American tour.
 

The Beths North American Tour Dates:

Tue. Aug. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Here and There Festival, Salt Shed
Thu. Aug. 18 – St. Louis, MO @ Blueberry Hill
Fri. Aug. 19 – Indianapolis, IN @ Hi-Fi
Sat. Aug. 20 – Covington, KY (Cincinnati) @ Madison Live
Mon. Aug. 22 – Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall
Tue. Aug. 23 – Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry
Thu. Aug. 25 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
Fri. Aug. 26 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes
Sat. Aug. 27 – Portland, ME @ Portland House of Music
Sun. Aug. 28 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PDB
Wed. Aug. 31 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Spirit Hall
Thu. Sep. 1 – Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
Thu. Sep. 15 – Melbourne, AU @ 170 Russell
Fri. Sep. 16 – Sydney, AU @ Metro Theatre
Sat. Sep. 17 – Brisbane, AU @ The Triffid
Tue. Sep. 20 – Adelaide, AU @ The Gov
Wed. Sep. 21 – Perth, AU @ Magnet House
Fri. Sep. 23 – Wellington, NZ @ Opera House
Sat. Sep. 24 – Nelson, NZ @ Theatre Royal
Fri. Sep. 30 – Christchurch, NZ @ James Hay Theatre
Sat. Oct. 1 – Dunedin, NZ @ The Glenroy
Fri. Oct. 7 – Auckland, NZ @ Auckland Town Hall
Thu. Feb. 16 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Fri. Feb. 17 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Wed. Feb. 22 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Fri. Feb. 24 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Sun. Feb. 26 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
Tue. Feb. 28 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
Thu. Mar. 2 – New York, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Fri. Mar. 3 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sat. Mar. 4 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Mon. Mar. 6 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel
Tue. Mar. 7 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade – Heaven
Wed. Mar. 8 – Nashville, TN @ Brooklyn Bowl
Fri. Mar. 10 – Austin, TX @ Scoot Inn
Sat. Mar. 11 – Dallas, TX @ Tulips
Tue. Mar. 14 – Denver, CO @ Summit
Thu. Mar. 16 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Fri. Mar. 17 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
Sat. Mar. 18 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore

Most Popular

NOW PLAYING