HomeMusicThe Beths return with new single 'Silence Is Golden,' announce forthcoming album...

The Beths return with new single ‘Silence Is Golden,’ announce forthcoming album ‘Expert In A Dying Field’

New Zealand quartet The Beths have are back with a video for their new single, “Silence Is Golden.” It arrives on the heels of their freshly announced album, Expert In A Dying Field, out September 16th via Carpark Records.

Today’s preview is an electrifying, propulsive single. With gritty guitars, driven percussion, and catchy, rollicking vocals, the track is pretty infectious. Lyrically, the track is about different ways that stress can show up in different people.

“The song is about stress and anxiety manifesting as an intolerance to noise,” frontwoman Elizabeth Stokes explains. “Where each new sound makes you more and more stressed.”

Watch the video for “Silence Is Golden” below.
 


 
Stokes’ songwriting takes a turn on this new album, landing “somewhere between being a novelist and a documentarian,” according to a release. “The songs collected here are autobiographical, but they’re also character sketches of relationships – platonic, familial, romantic – and more importantly, their aftermaths. The shapes and ghosts left in absences.”

Serving as their third album to date, Expert In A Dying Field sees The Beths channeling their live energy into a record. You can really hear that energetic sound on today’s single, “Silence Is Golden.”

Pre-order Expert In A Dying Field here or check out the tracklist below.
 

Expert In A Dying Field Tracklist:

01 – “Expert In A Dying Field”
02 – “Knees Deep”
03 – “Silence Is Golden”
04 – “Your Side”
05 – “I Want To Listen”
06 – “Head In The Clouds”
07 – “Best Left”
08 – “Change In The Weather”
09 – “When You Know You Know”
10 – “A Passing Rain”
11 – “I Told You That I Was Afraid”
12 – “2am”

The Beths are headed out on tour. Check out the dates below.
 

The Beths Tour Dates:

Seattle, WA @ Capitol Hill Block Party – Sun. Jul. 24
Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret – Mon. Jul. 25
Brooklyn, NY @ BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival – Fri. Jul. 29
Denver, CO @ UMS – The Underground Music Showcase – Sun. Jul. 31
San Diego, CA @ Belly Up Tavern – Tue. Aug. 2
Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory – Wed. Aug. 3
Santa Barbara, CA @ SoHo Restaurant & Music Club – Thu. Aug. 4
San Francisco, CA @ Outside Lands Music Festival – Fri. Aug. 5
Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge – Sun. Aug. 7
Davenport, IA @ Raccoon Motel – Wed. Aug. 10
Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop – Thu. Aug. 11
North Adams, MA @ Here and There Festival, Mass MoCA – Sat. Aug. 13
Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace – Sun. Aug. 14
Detroit, MI @ The Magic Bag – Mon. Aug. 15
Chicago, IL @ Here and There Festival, Salt Shed – Tue. Aug. 16
St. Louis, MO @ Blueberry Hill – Thu. Aug. 18
Indianapolis, IN @ Hi-Fi – Fri. Aug. 19
Covington, KY (Cincinnati) @ Madison Live – Sat. Aug. 20
Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall – Mon. Aug. 22
Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry – Tue. Aug. 23
Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar – Thu. Aug. 25
Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes – Fri. Aug. 26
Portland, ME @ Portland House of Music & Events – Sat. Aug. 27
Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz – Sun. Aug. 28
Pittsburgh, PA @ Spirit Hall – Wed. Aug. 31
Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar – Thu. Sep. 1

[Read More] New Zealand indie pop outfit The Beths reach ‘for optimism about the future’ on new single ‘A Real Thing’

Most Popular

NOW PLAYING