HomeMusicThe War On Drugs recruit Lucius for new single 'I Don't Live...

The War On Drugs recruit Lucius for new single ‘I Don’t Live Here Anymore’

The War On Drugs are readying the release of I Don’t Live Here Anymore, which is out on October 29th via Atlantic. Today, they’ve previewed the album with its title track.

“I Don’t Live Here Anymore” features backing vocals from Lucius. Throughout the tune, The War On Drugs reflect on the days of classic rock. Frontman Adam Granduciel sings lines like, “I know it ain’t like I remember/ I guess my memory runs wild/ Like when we went to see Bob Dylan/ We danced to ‘Desolation Row.'” The song is an anthemic tune that sees the band leaning into their love of big sounds.

The accompanying Emmett Malloy-directed video is inspired by older rock videos. Filmed in Los Angeles, the video nods to rock and roll videos past.

Watch the video for “I Don’t Live Here Anymore (feat. Lucius)” below.

I Don’t Live Here Anymore marks The War On Drugs’ fifth studio album. It’ll be their first release in four years, following 2017’s Grammy Award-winning album A Deeper Understanding.

Band leader Adam Granduciel, bassist Dave Hartley and multi-instrumentalist Anthony LaMarca began creating the album during a retreat to New York in early 2018 then continued to record the 10-track album over the next three years.

“It’s an expression of rock ‘n’ roll’s power to translate our own experience into songs we can share and words that direct our gaze toward the possibility of what is to come.”

Check out the tracklist below.

I Don’t Live Here Anymore Tracklist:

01 – “Living Proof”
02 – “Harmonia’s Dream”
03 – “Change”
04 – “I Don’t Wanna Wait”
05 – “Victim”
06 – “I Don’t Live Here Anymore”
07 – “Old Skin”
08 – “Wasted”
09 – “Rings Around My Father’s Eyes”
10 – “Occasional Rain”

[Read More] The War On Drugs perform ‘Living Proof’ on ‘Colbert’
Listen: The War On Drugs release cover of Warren Zevon’s ‘Accidentally Like A Martyr,’ announce podcast
Lucius want you to ‘dance through the darkness’ on new single ‘Dance Around It (feat. Brandi Carlile and Sheryl Crow)’

Lead photo courtesy of Shawn Brackbill.

Most Popular