HomeMusicTitus Andronicus 'reckon with the cruelest of life's truths' on new single...

Titus Andronicus ‘reckon with the cruelest of life’s truths’ on new single ‘Give Me Grief’

Titus Andronicus have shared a video for their new single, “Give Me Grief.”

The track comes from their forthcoming album, The Will To Live, out September 30th via Merge. Channeling some classic rock sounds with saxophone flourishes, “Give Me Grief” is a duet between frontman Patrick Stickles and former drummer Eric Harm. Choreographed by Stickles and directed by Ray Concepcion, the accompanying video sees Titus Andronicus taking part in some fun choreography.

“Thematically, The Will To Live is an attempt on my part to reckon with the cruelest of life’s truths, which is that, the wider you open yr heart to the good things in yr life (love, hope, etc.), the more you expose yrself to life’s most harrowing pains,” Stickles explains. “A full and rich life demands a vulnerability that will inevitably be rewarded with intense suffering.”

Watch the video for “Give Me Grief” below.


More on “Give Me Grief”:

“I have had to think about this a lot over the past couple years, as my father lay in a 50-day medically induced coma with no promise of his eventual awakening, or as my cousin was laid far too soon in his grave, or as I shivered one dreadful Christmas eve outside the animal hospital, hoping that a last-minute blood transfusion might save my anemic cat. These moments of agony could have been avoided had I simply closed myself off from the joys offered to me by those I love, but that is no way to live, and I force myself to move forward beckoning love in all its forms, however frightening a prospect. Grief is necessary, for without the threat of grief, there can be no love, and life without love is no life at all.”

In addition to “Give Me Grief,” the album features “(I’m) Screwed” and their Cock Sparrer “We’re Coming Back.”

Check out the tracklist for The Will to Live below or pre-order it here.

The Will to Live Tracklist:

01 – “My Mother Is Going to Kill Me”
02 – “(I’m) Screwed”
03 – “I Can Not Be Satisfied”
04 – “Bridge and Tunnel”
05 – “Grey Goo”
06 – “Dead Meat”
07 – “An Anomaly”
08 – “Give Me Grief”
09 – “Baby Crazy”
10 – “All Through the Night”
11 – “We’re Coming Back”
12 – “69 Stones”

Most Popular