HomeMusicTokyo Police Club's Graham Wright shares distorted new single 'Something Sweet'

Tokyo Police Club’s Graham Wright shares distorted new single ‘Something Sweet’

Tokyo Police Club and Girlfriend Material member Graham Wright has shared a new single “Something Sweet.”

The distorted track comes from his forthcoming sophomore solo album, The Cost Of Doing Business, out September 28th via Ray Cat Records. On “Something Sweet,” Wright channels the sounds of ’90s alt-rock and shoegaze. The loud, yet comforting track follows the recently released “Bridget.”

“It’s my big ’90s song! I really went for it, too, which is always a little risky – it’s so easy to cross the line into pastiche,” Wright explains. “But with ‘Something Sweet,’ I found that the more ’90s affect I piled on, the more exciting it got. I think it’s because that’s when I first fell in love with songs, with records. So working in this idiom is like opening a portal and high fiving my ten year old self who’s watching the MuchMusic countdown for the first time and seeing a whole world of possibilities explode into being. Plus if I can make even one person think I invented any of these sick tricks, I’ll be a happy guy.”

Listen to “Something Sweet” below.

The Cost Of Doing Business marks Wright’s first album in a decade. The last 18 months has given Wright a chance to revisit his solo work.

“I was sitting there all day in my little recording nook, making these demos that I was so excited about. And for ages I was determined that I would just release those demos, that the record would go straight from that nook to the world. I had all these elaborate justifications about capturing the songs more purely, but after nearly two years of diddling around I had to admit that I was probably just scared to let the songs exist outside my headphones.”

Revisit the tracklist for The Cost Of Doing Business below.

The Cost Of Doing Business Tracklist:

01 – “First Song”
02 – “Hot Damn!”
03 – “Bridget”
04 – “Easy Money”
05 – “My Time Machine Worked!”
06 – “A Bargain At Twice The Price”
07 – “Something Sweet”
08 – “Flashes (Hey Amen)”
09 – “Sub Pop”
10 – “Tiny”
11 – “Have One On Me”

Most Popular