HomeMusicToro y Moi shares new singles 'Postman' and 'Magazine,' announces forthcoming album...

Toro y Moi shares new singles ‘Postman’ and ‘Magazine,’ announces forthcoming album ‘MAHAL’

Toro y Moi has announced his new album, MAHAL, with two new singles: “Postman” and “Magazine (feat. Salami Rose Joe Louis).”

Out April 29th via Dead Oceans, MAHAL is a 13-track album marking Toro y Moi’s seventh to date. Today’s previews are funky tunes that each come accompanied by a music video.

“Postman” is definitely a standout, with dance-worthy groove-driven instrumentals and a funk finish. The accompanying video, directed by Kid. Studio, follows Chaz Bear and co. as they ride around San Francisco.

Watch the video for “Postman” below.

“Magazine (feat. Salami Rose Joe Louis)” is a bit more downtempo. Lyrically, the track opens with “Nothing here to see, factory’s overseas,/ Cut down all these trees, we building Model T’s.” The accompanying video, directed by Arlington Lowell, follows Toro y Moi in a photo studio with Salami Rose Joe Louis.

Watch the video for “Magazine” below.

MAHAL marks Toro y Moi’s first release since he signed to Dead Oceans.

“I wanted to make a record that featured more musicians on it than any other record of mine,” Toro y Moi says. “To have them live on that record feels grounded, bringing a communal perspective to the table.”

Check out the tracklist for MAHAL below.

MAHAL Tracklist:

01 – “The Medium (feat. Unknown Mortal Orchestra)”
02 – “Goes By So Fast”
03 – “Magazine (feat. Salami Rose Joe Louis)”
04 – “Postman”
05 – “The Loop”
06 – “Last Year”
07 – “Mississippi”
08 – “Clarity (feat. Sofie)”
09 – “Foreplay”
10 – “Déjà Vu”
11 – “Way Too Hot”
12 – “Millennium (feat. The Mattson 2)”
13 – “Days in Love”

[Read More] Stream: Toro Y Moi shares ‘Underneath The Pine’ instrumentals in celebration of album’s 10th anniversary
Stream: Caribou drops ‘Suddenly Remixes’ featuring remixes from Toro Y Moi, Four Tet, more

Most Popular