HomeMusicToronto psych rockers Hot Garbage share lo-fi video for fuzzy new single...

Toronto psych rockers Hot Garbage share lo-fi video for fuzzy new single ‘Ride’

Toronto psych rockers Hot Garbage are back with a video for their new single, “Ride.”

The song serves as the title track to their forthcoming debut album, RIDE, out on October 29th via Mothland. Today’s single follows the release of “Sometimes I Go Down.” The track sees Hot Garbage leaning even further into their fuzzed out guitars and their eccentric garage-rock sound. The accompanying video, directed Colby Richardson, is a lo-fi ride through freeways.

“It’s basically about freedom (kind of ironic since it was written right before the pandemic),” Hot Garbage guitarist/lead vocalist Alex Carlevaris explains. “The freedom to go for a ride, to drive into the night, and to not know all the answers.”

Watch the video for “Ride” below.

“Red, white and black form the foundation of this highly stylized lo-fi ride through freeways and feedback,” director Colby Richardson adds. “Shot entirely off of a monitor with a camcorder, found footage of highway driving and phone videos of lead vocalist Juliana Carlevaris are repeatedly processed through an analog-video colour corrector. The final look presents a somewhat alien depiction of Carlevaris. Surrounded by a melting frame, the protagonist guides us through a constantly travelling and morphing horizon.”

Holy Fuck‘s Graham Walsh produced RIDE. It was recorded at Toronto’s Palace Sound and Baskitball 4 Life. The album will see Hot Garbage blending the sounds of the 60s and 70s beneath out-of-this-world textures. RIDE will truly take you on a 33 minute journey, pulling you through cinematic, fuzzy soundscapes.

Revisit the tracklist for RIDE below.

RIDE Tracklist:

01 – “Sometimes I Go Down”
02 – “Rinsed”
03 – “Shadowmaster”
04 – “She Figured It Out”
05 – “X-Ray”
06 – “Everything stops”
07 – “Soft As Gold”
08 – “Fantasma”
09 – “Ride”

You can catch Hot Garbage at The Garrison as part of the Alive Concert Series on November 6th. Purchase tickets here.

[Read More] Stream: Holy Fuck share new album ‘Deleter’

Lead photo courtesy of Alex Carre.

Most Popular