HomeMusicToronto supergroup Sauna share psychedelic video for new track 'Float'

Toronto supergroup Sauna share psychedelic video for new track ‘Float’

Toronto supergroup Sauna are back with a video for their new single, “Float.”

Made up of Fake Palms’ Michael le Riche, Weaves’ Zach Bines, and Greys’ Braeden Craig, the trio are readying the release of their debut album, Dose Yourself, out May 20th. Today’s preview, “Float,” is a maximalist anthem with pulsing synths and unique percussion. Le Riche wrote the song after listening to Elton John records, and it’s inspired by John’s playing both on and off beat. Directed by IMMV Productions’ Justis Krar, the accompanying video is trippy and psychedelic.

“The goal was to get out of the way and let the words and groove take the video to where it needed to be,” Krar explains. “Like finding a VHS at a thrift store with the words FLOAT UP written on the side. What kind of disco space odyssey will you go on?”

Watch the video for “Float” below.

The forthcoming Sauna album serves as the follow-up to their 2019 EP. On Dose Yourself, the band weave in and out of a whole slew of genres, ranging from modern psychedelia to house to early 80’s hip hop and disco.

In addition to “Float,” Dose Yourself features the previously released “Only Luck” and “Modernization.”

Le Riche met Bines and Craig when they were playing the same shows with their respective bands. The trio “bonded over their deep love for disco and electro,” a press release explains. “When le Riche started writing songs for Sauna he knew these were the guys he wanted to collaborate with as they were, says le Riche, ‘one of the best rhythm sections I’ve ever had the privilege of playing alongside.'”

[Read More] Greys | Indie88 Hidden Studio Sessions
Calgary psych-rockers Crystal Eyes share dreamy new tune ‘Like A Movie’
Kikagaku Moyo share video for new song ‘Cardboard Pile,’ detail final album ‘Kumoyo Island’
Fake Palms share video for new post-punk single ‘Civil Liberties’

Most Popular