HomeMusicUltra Q share distorted video for infectious new single 'It's Permanent'

Ultra Q share distorted video for infectious new single ‘It’s Permanent’

Oakland-based rockers Ultra Q have shared a video for their new single, “It’s Permanent.”

Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong’s son Jakob Armstrong fronts Ultra Q. Brothers Enzo and Chris Malaspina and Kevin Judd round out the band. Today’s single follows previously released tunes “Bowman” and “Handheld.” All of those songs appear on their forthcoming EP, Get Yourself A Friend. “It’s Permanent” comes accompanied by a visualizer made by Armstrong. The video for the new Ultra Q track comes packed with old tour footage alongside scenes from The Decline of Western Civilization.

“If there’s one song on this EP that is remembered in any way, I really hope it’s this one,” Armstrong says. “I so vividly remember making the demo thinking that this might just be total trash, but alas, I think it’s my favourite of the bunch. The goal with ‘It’s Permanent’ was to really try and create something cinematic, which we had never attempted in a song before.”

Watch the video for “It’s Permanent” below.

“It was all about the atmosphere,” Armstrong continues. “A lot of the vocal clicks and guitar flourishes were kept from the demo as they just worked well with what we had. Lyrically there’s something in there about getting wasted in an eastern European night club, surrounded by flashing neon lights and doom, but it’s lathered in a healthy layer of nonsense. If nothing else, I hope this song provides a couple minutes of gothic escapism.”

More about Ultra Q:

Ultra Q bring a youthful, glitchy take to rock sounds. They hone in on bands like The Strokes and The Cure, while channeling the energy of bands like PUP. In fact, PUP frontman Stefan Babcock co-wrote their track, “Bowman.” You can really here that gritty, retro-futuristic sound on Get Yourself A Friend.

Get Yourself A Friend is out on November 19th via Royal Mountain Records. Pre-order the album here or check out the tracklist below.

Get Yourself A Friend Tracklist:

01 – “Pupkin”
02 – “It’s Permanent”
03 – “Bowman”
04 – “Straight Jacket”
05 – “Handheld”
06 – “Get Yourself A Friend”

[Read More] Ultra Q release new single ‘Bowman’, a nod to ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’
Green Day cover KISS’ ‘Rock And Roll All Nite’ on opening night of Hella Mega Tour

Most Popular