Vinyl Archives: Week of August 25th

Featuring Social Distortion, Talking Heads, New Order, and more!

Join us on a journey through the gigantic vinyl archive each weekday on-air at 9:45 a.m. & 3:45 p.m. If you miss an episode, you can catch them on Facebook and Twitter at 9 p.m. each weeknight, or on

Presented with


Social Distortion – “Story Of My Life”

Indie88 proudly welcomes Social Distortion & Flogging Molly: Summer Tour 2019 on Tuesday, September 3rd 2019 at RBC Echo Beach! They’re sure to be playing tons of their classic hits, so make sure to head over to RBC Echo Beach on Tuesday!

Talking Heads – “And She Was”

Former Talking Heads frontman David Byrne has just announced a new online publication called Reasons to be Cheerful, which sees Byrne teaming up with co-editors Christine McLaren and Will Doig. “Through stories of hope, rooted in evidence, Reasons to be Cheerful aims to inspire us all to be curious about how the world can be better, and ask ourselves how we can be part of that change.”

The Cure – “The Love Cats”

The Cure frontman Robert Smith has opened up about the loss of his mother, father and brother, and how that loss has influenced him heavily as a musician. Smith has shared that the tragedy of loss in his life has influenced and shaped the darkness in The Cure’s new album, which has a working title of Live from the Moon. In an interview with The Los Angeles Times, Smith explained that the band looking to complete the album and have discussed how the lyrics have been shaped by family tragedy.

New Order – “Bizarre Love Triangle”

Peter Hook and his band the Light are set to celebrate his former groups, Joy Division and New Order, while out on their European and North American tour. Hook and the band will be performing New Order’s 1989 record Technique and 1993’s Republic in full, in addition to opening up the show with Joy Division tunes. They’ll be bringing the tour to the Danforth Music Hall on October 28th, so get ready New Order fans!

Iggy Pop – “The Passenger”

Godfather of Punk Iggy Pop has dropped an eerie new song called “Sonali” from his upcoming album Free, which will be released on September 6th. “Sonali” is the second track to be released from the new album. The song is produced by Leron Thomas and composed by Ruby Sylvain, and it sees Iggy Pop exploring new sonic landscapes with jazzy beats and a peculiar sound.