HomeMusicFeatures & ListsVinyl Archives: Week of October 13th

Vinyl Archives: Week of October 13th

Join us on a journey through the gigantic vinyl archive each weekday on-air at 9:45 a.m. & 3:45 p.m. If you miss an episode, you can catch them on Facebook and Twitter at 9 p.m. each weeknight, or on Indie88.com.

Presented with


Depeche Mode – “Enjoy The Silence”

Depeche Mode were among the list of artists nominated for The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame class of 2020. The band joins the likes of fellow nominees like Nine Inch Nails, Soundgarden, Whitney Houston, Kraftwerk, The Notorious B.I.G., Motörhead, Dave Matthews Band, Thin Lizzy, Rufus with Chaka Khan, and Pat Benatar.

Johnny Cash – “I Walk The Line”

A trailer has arrived for the new documentary about Johnny Cash, which is called The Gift. The documentary film, which premieres on YouTube Originals on November 11th, features plenty of recently discovered archival materials, and interviews with family members and collaborators. “He had a message and his message was the truth about being alive in this world,” Emmylou Harris says in the clip.

New Order – “Bizarre Love Triangle”

Showtime has picked up a new feature length documentary about New Order. New Order: Decades, which was produced and directed by Mike Christie, follows the British band at the Manchester International Festival. “New Order: Decades offers a rare chance to enter the band’s private world, understand the visual philosophy of their aesthetic and design, and witness their collaborative, creative processes first hand,” Caravan managing director and film exec producer Dinah Lord explains, according to Variety.

Aretha Franklin – “I Say A Little Prayer”

MGM has revealed the cast of the forthcoming Aretha Franklin biopic, which is starring Jennifer Hudson in the lead role. The film, which is set to follow the rise of Franklin’s career, will star Forest Whitaker, Marlon Wayans, Audra McDonald, Mary J. Blige, Marc Maron, Tituss Burgess, Saycon Sengbloh, Hailey Kilgore, and Tate Donovan.

The Cure – “The Lovecats”

The Cure are celebrating the 40th anniversary of Three Imaginary Boys with the release of 40 Live Curaetion 25 + Anniversary. The collection features tracks from their 2018 performances at the Meltdown Festival and London’s Hyde Park. The first half of the album showcases one song from each of their 13 albums in chronological order, finishing off with the previously unreleased track “It Can Never Be the Same.” The second half of the record sees The Cure opening with “Step Into the Light,” and then moving backward through their repertoire, ending with “Boys Don’t Cry.”

Most Popular