HomeMusicMusic NewsVoting Closes for SOCAN Songwriting Prize

Voting Closes for SOCAN Songwriting Prize

The voting is done. Now we wait to see who the fans have voted the winner of the 2013 SOCAN Songwriting Prize.

Music experts (unaffiliated with SOCAN) narrowed down the list of nominees to five finalists; Mo Kenny, The Weather Station, Purity Ring, Maylee Todd, and Whitehorse. Over the past 30 days fans could vote for their favourite on socansongwritingprize.ca.

Indie88 caught up with three of the five finalists to get their thoughts on songwriting.

Where is your favourite place to write a song?

The Weather Station: In bed, just upon waking.

Mo Kenney: My favourite place to write a song has to be at the boat house across from my parents place in Waverley.

Maylee Todd: In my home studio

If you couldn’t sing your own song, who is an artist you’d like to perform it?

The Weather Station: Jennifer Castle. I’d be daunted, but she’d take everything to a place of beauty and mystery I couldn’t quite imagine.

Mo Kenny: Definitely Sharon Van Etten

Maylee Todd: Sade… it’d probably sound super cool.

What is your favourite song written by a Canadian songwriter?

The Weather Station: There are so many. Since I’m on a Castle trip at the moment, I’ll say: We Always Change by Jennifer Castle.

Maylee Todd: Be a Dreamer by Drew Smith

Mo Kenny: A Case of You by Joni Mitchel


Here are the nominations for all 5 songs.

“Fineshrine” by Purity Ring

“Devils Got a Gun” by Whitehorse

“Sucker” by Mo Kenny

“Baby’s Got It” by Maylee Todd

“Mule In The Flowers” by The Weather Station featuring Baby Eagle

Most Popular