Watch: Arcade Fire’s Will Butler shares video for new track ‘Surrender,’ announces sophomore solo album ‘Generations’

'Generations' is set for release on September 25

Arcade Fire’s Will Butler has announced his sophomore solo album, Generations, which is set for release on September 25th. As part of the announcement, Butler has shared a video for a new track called “Surrender.”

The new track follows Butler’s 2015 debut Policy and his follow-up live album Friday Night. Generations was recorded and produced in Butler’s own basement just prior to the spread of COVID-19.

“Surrender” is a track that “is masquerading as a love song, but it’s more about friendship… Relationships that we sometimes wish we could let go of, but that are stuck within us forever.” Butler then goes on to explain that it’s also about “surrendering” money and power for the greater good.

Listen to “Surrender” and check out the tracklist for Generations below.

Generations Tracklist:

01 – “Outta Here”
02 – “Bethlehem”
03 – “Close My Eyes”
04 – “I Don’t Know What I Don’t Know”
05 – “Surrender”
06 – “Hide It Away”
07 – “Hard Times”
08 – “Promised”
09 – “Not Gonna Die”
10 – “Fine”