Watch: Austra Debut ‘Future Politics’ Ahead of Upcoming Album

Future Politics coming January 20th debut

Toronto electro outfit Austra have revealed plans to release a new record early 2017.

Future Politics seeks change from the dystopian future we’re headed towards: “a commitment to replace the approaching dystopia,” band leader Katie Stelmanis said in a press release. Austra promises the new record as “a collection of urgent, disciplined anthems for dancefloors and headphones alike.”

Today the band have shared a new single and accompanying video for the eponymous single “Future Politics”. Watch below:

“Future Politics is the breaking down of paradigms. In this video, we wanted to explore what a world might look like if our values were transformed: instead of glorifying labor, maybe we could learn to glorify the act of doing absolutely nothing.”

Future Politics arrives January 20th via Pink Fizz Records, the same night as their MOD Club performance in Toronto.

Future Politics:

1. We Were Alive
2. Future Politics
3. Utopia
4. I’m A Monster
5. I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
6. Angel In Your Eye
7. Freepower
8. Gaia
9. Beyond A Mortal
10. Deep Thought
11. 43