HomeMusicWatch: Bad Waitress share video for rambunctious new track 'Delusions of Grandeur'

Watch: Bad Waitress share video for rambunctious new track ‘Delusions of Grandeur’

Toronto’s Bad Waitress have shared a video for their rambunctious new track, “Delusions of Grandeur.” The track comes from their forthcoming debut album, No Taste, out September 3rd via Royal Mountain Records.

The new track serves as a follow-up to last month’s “Strawberry Milkshake.” The slow-building tune opens with soft, slow vocals and instrumentals, before exploding into an energetic chorus. The accompanying video comes packed with clips of what appears to be a cult, dressed all in white in a field.

“When the wrong people get put into power, songs like this get written,” Bad Waitress explain. “It’s about wanting them to cut their teeth on the ground labourers have laid down for them. It’s an expression of classic working class frustrations; knowing those people, fuelled by their own greed and narcissism, will never see what you see – which we are reminded of daily on the news. We’re calling out a broken system with the hope and resilience to try to build something new. It’s a dynamic song that doesn’t go where you expect it to, complete with soaring vocals, bass breakdowns and disarming harmonies.”

Watch the video for “Delusions of Grandeur” below.

No Taste is set to see Bad Waitress finding strength in mood swings, exploring a whole slew of themes and genres in just 10 tracks. “It’s good to listen to when you’re walking alone at night,” Nicole explains. “I get really anxious, but I feel powerful when I listen to this album, like I’m fucking untouchable. It’s basically a self-defense album.”

“There’s always a ‘fuck you’ to the man,” Kali adds. “The album is a rollercoaster. Every song takes you somewhere different.”

Check out the tracklist for No Taste below.

No Taste Tracklist:

01 – “Rabbit Hole”
02 – “Yeah Yeah Yeah”
03 – “Lacerate”
04 – “Strawberry Milkshake”
05 – “Manners”
06 – “Delusions Of Grandeur”
07 – “Standards”
08 – “Live In Reverse”
09 – “12 Years Old”
10 – “Restless Body”

Lead photo courtesy of Kate Dockeray.

Most Popular