HomeMusicWatch: Breeze shares video for new Cadence Weapon collaboration 'Come Around,' announces...

Watch: Breeze shares video for new Cadence Weapon collaboration ‘Come Around,’ announces new album

Toronto artist/producer Breeze has announced his sophomore album, Only Up, out August 26th via Hand Drawn Dracula. As part of the announcement, he’s shared a video for his new Cadence Weapon collaboration, “Come Around.”

“Come Around” sees Breeze’s Josh Korody channeling a sort of swampy acid house sound. The new Breeze track features guest vocals from the Toronto-based rapper. Weapon’s captivating vocals truly transform the gritty anthemic tune. Ultimately, Korody blends his sound with Weapon’s perfectly.

Korody explains of the track:

“‘Come Around’ is about someone that has done something horrible and has not shown any accountability or true remorse and the fear they – or have the nerve – to be able to jump back into a community that no longer feels comfortable around them. So, as I’m singing the song I’m picturing performing it live with them walking into the room and making people, especially the people closest to them, extremely uncomfortable and angry. The lyrics: ‘Yeah, you really did a number on this one’ references the trauma they imposed upon the community. When Rollie (Cadence Weapon) comes in, his lyrical dialogue is a bit more separate, it’s more fun but still comes from frustration as well and it quickly takes myself and others out of that dark place with the hope of trying to move on and to enjoy the life we have.”

Watch the video for “Come Around” below.

Only Up serves as the follow-up to his recently released Parallel World. The album draws on influences from British bands like the Happy Mondays, Charlatans, and Primal Scream.

Korody put together the album in just two weeks.

Check out the tracklist for Only Up below.

Only Up Tracklist:

01 – “Intro”
02 – “Come Around”
03 – “Let It In”
04 – “Ecstasy On Keele Street”
05 – “Hard-Boiled Wonderland”
06 – “Our Scene”
07 – “Bummer”
08 – “Release The Pain”
09 – “Don’t Cry”
10 – “Only Up”

Pre-order Only Up here.

Most Popular