HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesWatch: Cage The Elephant drop video for first single 'Ready To Let...

Watch: Cage The Elephant drop video for first single ‘Ready To Let Go,’ announce album

Cage The Elephant have just announced their fifth studio album, Social Cues, which is set for release on April 19th. As part of the announcement, the indie band have dropped a video for their first single, “Ready To Let Go.”

The deceptively upbeat track revolves around frontman Matt Shultz as he processes the final stages of a breakup, and gets ready to move on with his life. Directed by Shultz, the video shows the band taking part in some eerie, slightly disturbing underground rituals as they perform in black and white.

Watch the video for “Ready To Let Go” below.

Most of Social Cues was written as Shultz’s relationship unravelled. “[Music] can be a vehicle to act out things that are hard to confront,” Shultz explains. “When I’m creating, I try to put myself in a reactive state of improvisational thought. I let images just arise in my mind and wait for it to evoke an emotional response and then when it does, I know I’m on to something.”

Check out the tracklist for Social Cues below.

Social Cues Tracklist:

01 – “Broken Boy”
02 – “Social Cues”
03 – “Black Madonna”
04 – “Night Running (feat. Beck)”
05 – “Skin and Bones”
06 – “Ready To Let Go”
07 – “House of Glass”
08 – “Love’s the Only Way”
09 – “The War Is Over”
10 – “Dance Dance”
11 – “What I’m Becoming”
12 – “Tokyo Smoke”
13 – “Goodbye”

Lead photo courtesy of Neil Krug.

Most Popular