HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesWatch: Charly Bliss drop Japanese Breakfast directed video for 'Capacity,' announce new...

Watch: Charly Bliss drop Japanese Breakfast directed video for ‘Capacity,’ announce new album

New York-based outfit Charly Bliss have just announced they’ll be releasing their sophomore album Young Enough this year, and as part of the announcement, they’ve released a video for their first single “Capacity.”

The new track revolves around frontwoman Eva Hendricks’ distinctive high-pitched, slightly electronic vocal lines, which are laid atop an upbeat fuzzy melody. The video was directed by Japanese Breakfast’s Michelle Zauner, and it follows the band as they party in a colourful, yet lowly lit motel room while drinking, screaming, and lying on a pile of cold hard cash.

Watch the video for “Capacity” below.

“I don’t know why it’s easiest for me to frame the darkest lyrics in the context of upbeat songs,” Hendricks explained of the album in a statement. “It’s completely instinctual and not something I ever plan out. It sort of mirrors how I am, and maybe it’s a way of protecting myself. In my opinion, the two best emotional releases are crying and dancing, so it makes sense to me to marry the two.”

Check out the tracklist for Young Enough below.
Young Enough Tracklist:

01 – “Blown to Bits”
02 – “Capacity”
03 – “Under You”
04 – “Camera”
05 – “Fighting in the Dark”
06 – “Young Enough”
07 – “Bleach”
08 – “Chatroom”
09 – “Hurt Me”
10 – “Hard to Believe”
11 – “The Truth”

Young Enough is set for release on May 10th.

Most Popular