Watch: Chastity drop video for ‘Sun Poisoning,’ announce forthcoming album ‘Home Made Satan’

'Home Made Satan' is set for release on September 13

Whitby, Ontario’s Chastity have announced their forthcoming sophomore record, Home Made Satan, which is set to be both an emotional and political concept album. As part of the announcement, they’ve released a video for their new single, “Sun Poisoning.”

The new track has a melancholic tinge as frontman Brandon Williams croons atop a simple guitar line before it explodes into a gritty punk-centric ballad. The track comes accompanied by a video of Chastity performing at a party full of masked fans, hand puppets, and a young boy and girl dressed in a bunny costume and angel costume respectively.

“I wrote a song called ‘Sun Poisoning’ in 2013, and Kacey Musgraves provoked inspiration in me to bring this back, her lyric ‘happy and sad at the same time,'” frontman Brandon Williams explains in a statement. “A classic songwriter trope, melancholy, but in my adaptation I wanted to express the feeling of trying to smile when you know your teeth are bleeding. ‘Do you want to see how easily my teeth bleed?'”

Watch the video for “Sun Poisoning” and check out the tracklist for Home Made Satan below.

Home Made Satan Tracklist:

01 – “Flames”
02 – “Dead Relatives”
03 – “Spirit Meetup”
04 – “Sun Poisoning”
05 – “Anxiety”
06 – “Last Year’s Lust”
07 – “Bliss”
08 – “The Girls I Know Don’t Think So”
09 – “I Still Feel The Same”
10 – “Strife”
Home Made Satan is set for release on September 13th, 2019.