Watch: Dan Deacon releases video for new tune ‘Sat by a Tree,’ announces forthcoming record ‘Mystic Familiar’

'Mystic Familiar' will drop on January 31

Experimental artist Dan Deacon has made his return with a video for a new track called “Sat by a Tree.” He’s also announced a new album, Mystic Familiar, which will drop on January 31st.

The forthcoming 11-track record will mark his first since 2015’s Gliss Riffer. According to a press release, Deacon focused on recording this album with “therapeutic practices of self-compassion and mindfulness, daily prompts from Brian Eno’s deck of Oblique Strategies and the use of meditation.”

The first track from the record, “Sat by a Tree,” is a psychedelic tune revolving around an energetic, dynamic instrumental line and silky, soft vocals. The new tune comes accompanied by a Daren Rabinovitch-directed video starring comedian Aparna Nancherla, who is getting eaten alive by bugs throughout the clip.

Watch the video for “Sat by a Tree” and check out the tracklist for Mystic Familiar below.

Mystic Familiar Tracklist:

01 – “Become a Mountain”
02 – “Hypnagogic”
03 – “Sat By A Tree”
04 – “Arp I: Wide Eyed”
05 – “Arp II: Float Away”
06 – “Arp III: Far From Shore”
07 – “Arp IV: Any Moment”
08 – “Weeping Birch”
09 – “Fell Into the Ocean”
10 – “My Friend”
11 – “Bumble Bee Crown King”