Watch: Daughter’s Elena Tonra releases video for ‘Romance,’ announces solo album as Ex:Re

The album is set for release on Friday, November 30

Daughter frontwoman Elena Tonra just released a lonely video for her new single “Romance” off of her upcoming debut solo album. Her new project will be called Ex:Re, and the self-titled record is set for release Friday, November 30th.

The video feels heartbreaking and lonely, as it juxtaposes scenes of a night time drive and Tonra dancing alone in a club. Tonra throws herself across the busy room as she spends the evening by herself amidst bright, orange and blue coloured lights.

Watch the video for “Romance” below.

“Although the record is written for someone, a lot of the time it’s about the space without that person in it,” Tonra explains to DIY Magazine. “In every scenario, there’s either the person in memory or the noticeable absence of that person in the present moment. I suppose it is a break-up record, however I do not talk about the relationship at all, and he hardly features in the scenes. He is only felt as a ghostly presence.”

Check out the tracklisting for Ex:Re below.
01 – Where The Time Went
02 – Crushing
03 – New York
04 – Romance
05 – The Dazzler
06 – Too Sad
07 – Liar
08 – I Can’t Keep You
09 – 5AM
10 – My Heart