HomeMusicWatch: Hélène Barbier conquers her fears in new video for 'La Peur'

Watch: Hélène Barbier conquers her fears in new video for ‘La Peur’

Montreal art-pop artist Hélène Barbier is set to release her self-produced sophomore album, Regulus, on June 18th via Michel Records and Celluloid Lunch. Today, she’s previewed the album with a video for its lead single, “La Peur.”

The groovy, dreamy, and almost eerie new tune sees Barbier singing of the freeness of letting go atop droning, yet captivating instrumental lines. The accompanying Olivia Faie Lathuillère-directed video sees Barbier making through an eerie warehouse before overcoming her fears by doing some work outs.

“I wanted to work with the space the way it was, and stay faithful to the song without images taking over the music,” Lathuillère explains, “we just see a person getting self-control over fear thanks to physical training.”

Watch the video for “La Peur” below.

“It’s a song about the importance of letting go of what you have no control over, whatever it is,” Barbier explains. “And only care about what matters, Kindness for instance. Other people’s opinion is only other people’s business.”

Check out the tracklist for Regulus below.

Regulus Tracklist:

01 – “La Peur”
02 – “Jersey Swap”
03 – “Rambling On”
04 – “Equal Sign”
05 – “Regulus”
06 – “Unbolted Cover”
07 – “Get A Grip”
08 – “Lightly”
09 – “Les Orties”
10 – “Palissade”
11 – “You Little Nothing”
12 – “Carpet”

Most Popular