Watch: Japanese Breakfast hunts aliens in video for new track ‘Be Sweet,’ announces forthcoming album ‘Jubilee’

'Jubilee' is set for release on June 4

Michelle Zauner has announced a new album as Japanese Breakfast, Jubilee, which is set for release on June 4th via Dead Oceans.

The bubbly new indie track revolves around a shimmering instrumental and shining vocals, as Zauner deliversl ines like, “Be sweet to me baby/ I want to believe in you/ I want to believe in something.” The hilarious, quirky new video sees Japanese Breakfast hunting for aliens, plotting out their path and shooting neon rays from a cornfield.

“After spending the last five years writing about grief, I wanted our follow up to be about joy,” Zauner explains. “For me, a third record should feel bombastic and so I wanted to pull out all the stops for this one. I wrote ‘Be Sweet’ with Jack Tatum from Wild Nothing a few years ago. I’ve been holding onto it for so long and am so excited to finally put it out there.”

Watch the video for “Be Sweet” below.

“I’ve never wanted to rest on any laurels,” Zauner explains of the follow-up to 2017’s Soft Sounds From Another Planet. “I wanted to push it as far as it could go, inviting more people in and pushing myself as a composer, a producer, an arranger.”

Check out the tracklist for Jubilee below.
Jubilee Tracklist:

01 – “Paprika”
02 – “Be Sweet”
03 – “Kokomo, IN”
04 – “Slide Tackle”
05 – “Posing in Bondage”
06 – “Sit”
07 – “Savage Good Boy”
08 – “In Hell”
09 – “Tactics”
10 – “Posing for Cars”