HomeMusicWatch: Jay Som, Palehound share video for new track 'Stay in the...

Watch: Jay Som, Palehound share video for new track ‘Stay in the Car,’ announce debut album as Bachelor

Last month, Jay Som’s Melina Duterte and Palehound’s Ellen Kempner shared their first song as Bachelor, and today they’ve announced their debut album, Doomin’ Sun, which is set for release on May 28th via Polyvinyl. To preview the collection, Bachelor have shared a video for their new track “Stay in the Car.”

“Stay in the Car” is a gritty new tune that revolves around catchy guitar lines and some stunning, perfectly off-tune harmonies before it explodes into a grungy chorus. The accompanying video, which is directed and edited by Haoyan of America, is a fun-loving compilation of Duterte and Kempner in a car beneath trippy effects.

“I wrote the lyrics to ‘Stay in the Car’ back in December of 2019 when I was in Florida for my partner’s top surgery,” Kempner explains. “I had run out one afternoon, post-op, while he was healing to grab lunch for us and as I was gathering my stuff in the parking lot, a big car pulled up and this absolutely beautiful woman got out. She was dressed all in red, dripping with jewelry and had the most wild fiery mane I’d ever seen. She was yelling at the man behind the wheel asking him what he wanted from the store and I wished I was that man. I wanted to be a part of her life, her best friend, her driver, whatever she wanted me to be. I was completely mesmerized.”

Watch the video for “Stay in the Car” below.

“We wanted this song to be a visceral listening experience, inspired by the Pixies and the Breeders,” Duterte adds. “For the music video, we worked on a two-day shoot with Haoyan of America in Poughkeepsie in extremely cold weather. We all collaborated on the idea that our friendship should be portrayed in a fun and stylish way. Hoayan captured that energy in his own unique and creative lens through his collection of ’80s/’90s/’00s props and toys, CGI, and anything car-themed.”

The forthcoming album, which was recorded in January 2020 in Topanga, California, is set to see collaborations with Big Thief’s Buck Meek and James Krichenia, and Duterte’s partner, Chastity Belt’s Annie Truscott.

Check out the tracklist for Doomin’ Sun below.
Doomin’ Sun Tracklist:

01 – “Back of My Hand”
02 – “Sand Angel”
03 – “Stay in the Car”
04 – “Went Out Without You”
05 – “Spin Out”
06 – “Anything at All”
07 – “Moon”
08 – “Sick of Spiraling”
09 – “Aurora”
10 – “Doomin’ Sun”

Most Popular