Watch: Lucy Dacus shares nostalgic video for new track ‘Hot & Heavy,’ announces forthcoming album ‘Home Video’

'Home Video' is set for release on June 25

Lucy Dacus has officially announced her forthcoming album, Home Video, which is set for release on June 25th via Matador. As part of the announcement she’s shared a video for her new track, “Hot & Heavy.”

“Hot & Heavy” is a powerful, explosive new track that sees Dacus singing about growing up, and turning into new versions of herself. The accompanying self-directed video comes packed with nostalgic clips of Dacus going to the movies at Byrd Theatre in her hometown with a video camera in hand, interspersed with shots of her growing up.

“I thought I was writing ‘Hot & Heavy’ about an old friend, but I realized along the way that it was just about me outgrowing past versions of myself,” Dacus explains. “So much of life is submitting to change and saying goodbye even if you don’t want to. Now whenever I go to places that used to be significant to me, it feels like trespassing the past. I know that the teen version of me wouldn’t approve of me now, and that’s embarrassing and a little bit heartbreaking, even if I know intellectually that I like my life and who I am.”

Watch the video for “Hot & Heavy” below.

“I knew I wanted to include some of the home video footage that my dad took of me while I was growing up,” Dacus adds. “I wanted to visualize the moment when you first reflect on your childhood, which I think can also be the moment that childhood is over. For me, I feel like there was a hard switch when I started releasing music, when my identity went from being a personal project to something publicly observed and reflected. I asked my family (shoutout to my grandma) and some of my closest friends to be extras because they’re the people that knew me before that switch. I may have dropped out of film school, but I still love making movies and had a really fun time directing this one.”

The forthcoming album, which serves as the follow-up to 2018’s Historian, sees Dacus reflecting on her coming-of-age years in Richmond, Virginia. Serving as almost a memoir, Dacus offers snapshots of specific moments of her growing up, as she was learning about the complexity of emotions and relationships.

Check out the Home Video tracklist below.
Home Video Tracklist:

01 – “Hot & Heavy”
02 – “Christine”
03 – “First Time”
04 – “VBS”
05 – “Cartwheel”
06 – “Thumbs”
07 – “Going Going Gone”
08 – “Partner In Crime”
09 – “Brando”
10 – “Please Stay”
11 – “Triple Dog Dare”