Watch: Overcoats release new video for ‘Apathetic Boys,’ announce ‘The Fight (Remixed)’

As Hana and JJ's directorial debut

Brooklyn duo Overcoats have released a new music video for their The Fight track “Apathetic Boys.” Additionally, Overcoats have announced a new seven-track collection called The Fight (Remixed), which is set for release on December 11th.

The new clip marks band members Hana and JJ’s directorial debut, as they create a video commentary on the male-dominated nature of the music industry.

“The music industry is obviously male dominated, from the executive level to the bands,” Overcoats explain. “Men are the gatekeepers of rock music, and not only men, but apathetic men. Male musicians often act like they don’t care and that makes them cooler–the tattered shirts, the emotionless expressions, etc. When women care, it is deeply uncool. This puts us in a vicious cycle of having to try harder than men to get coverage, while having to appear that we aren’t trying. We have felt this cycle in the music industry as well as in our relationships (trying not to be too eager or too clingy). We wanted the video to be a commentary on how these decidedly male expectations permeate the genre.”

Watch the video for “Apathetic Boys” below.

The Fight (Remixed) will be made up entirely of reimagining of tracks from their sophomore album The Fight, featuring reworks from Shura, Yoke Lore, Porches, and more.

Check out the tracklist for The Fight (Remixed) below.
The Fight (Remixed) Tracklist:

01 – “I’ll Be There (Shura Remix)”
02 – “Apathetic Boys (Porches Remix)”
03 – “New Shoes (Yoke Lore Remix)”
04 – “Keep The Faith (Billy Lemos Remix)”
05 – “Fire & Fury (Yumi Zouma Remix)”
06 – “The Fool (GUM & Ginoli Remix)”
07 – “The Fight (Caroline Rose Remix)”
Lead photo courtesy of Chloe Le Drezen.