Watch: Perfume Genius shares self-directed video for new track ‘Describe,’ announces new album ‘Set My Heart on Fire Immediately’

'Set My Heart on Fire Immediately' drops on May 15

Perfume Genius has announced a new album called Set My Heart on Fire Immediately, which drops on May 15th. As part of the announcement, he’s shared a self-directed video for his new track “Describe.”

The album’s lead single sees Mike Hadreas playing with distorted, ominous sounds, slide guitar, and visual-heavy lyricism that’s powerful in its simplicity. The new record, which marks the follow-up to 2017’s No Shape, explores the concept of masculinity and completely subverts it.

“I wanted to feel more open, more free and spiritually wild,” Hadreas explains. “And I’m in a place now where those feelings are very close – but it can border on being unhinged. I wrote these songs as a way to be more patient, more considered – to pull at all these chaotic threads hovering around me and weave them in to something warm, thoughtful and comforting.”

Watch the video for “Describe” and check out the tracklist for Set My Heart on Fire Immediately below.

Set My Heart on Fire Immediately Tracklist:

01 – “Whole Life”
02 – “Describe”
03 – “Without You”
04 – “Jason”
05 – “Leave”
06 – “On the Floor”
07 – “Your Body Changes Everything”
08 – “Moonbend”
09 – “Just a Touch”
10 – “Nothing at All”
11 – “One More Try”
12 – “Some Dream”
13 – “Borrowed Light”