HomeMusic NewsNew ReleasesWatch: Sleater-Kinney release 'The Future is Here,' announce title of forthcoming St....

Watch: Sleater-Kinney release ‘The Future is Here,’ announce title of forthcoming St. Vincent-produced album

Sleater-Kinney have detailed their forthcoming St. Vincent-produced album, which is set to be called The Center Won’t Hold, and as part of the announcement, they’ve released another single, “The Future is Here.”

“We’re always mixing the personal and the political but on this record, despite obviously thinking so much about politics, we were really thinking about the person — ourselves or versions of ourselves or iterations of depression or loneliness — in the middle of the chaos,” frontwoman Carrie Brownstein explains in a statement.

The new, slow-building track, “The Future is Here,” is a perfect example of that, with slow-building instrumentals as the powerful lyrics revolve around loneliness in a crowd. The track feels as though it’s asserting that the future is here, but because of technology, humans can no longer connect anymore.

Watch the video for “The Future is Here” and check out the tracklist for The Center Won’t Hold, which drops on August 16th, below.

The Center Won’t Hold Tracklist:

01 – “The Center Won’t Hold”
02 – “Hurry On Home”
03 – “Reach Out”
04 – “Can I Go On”
05 – “Restless”
06 – “Ruins”
07 – “LOVE”
08 – “Bad Dance”
09 – “The Future Is Here”
10 – “The Dog/ The Body”
11 – “Broken”

Most Popular