Watch: Soccer Mommy shares video for new track ‘circle the drain,’ announces forthcoming album ‘color theory’

'color theory' is set for release on February 28th

Sophie Allison has announced a new album as Soccer Mommy called color theory, which is set for release on February 28th. As part of the announcement, Soccer Mommy has shared video for her new track “circle the drain.”

“I wanted the experience of listening to color theory to feel like finding a dusty old cassette tape that has become messed up over time, because that’s what this album is: an expression of all the things that have slowly degraded me personally,” Allison explains in a statement. “The production warps, the guitar solos occasionally glitch, the melodies can be poppy and deceptively cheerful. To me, it sounds like the music of my childhood distressed and, in some instances, decaying.”

Today’s lead single is the perfect example of that, as it feels like a classic early 2000’s ballad, with melodies that feel remniscent of artists like Avril Lavigne, while the processed vocal lines add a more modern twist. Allison’s lyricism takes the lead on this track, as she sings lines like, “Round and around/ Circle the drain/ I’m going down.” The accompanying video is just as retro, as Allison makes her way along a journey, ending up in an abandoned water park, as skateboarders make their way down waterless water slides.

Watch the video for “circle the drain” and check out the tracklist for color theory below.

Soccer Mommy Tracklist:

01 – “bloodstream”
02 – “circle the drain”
03 – “royal screw up”
04 – “night swimming”
05 – “crawling in my skin”
06 – “yellow is the color of her eyes”
07 – “up the walls”
08 – “lucy”
09 – “stain”
10 – “gray light”
Lead photo courtesy of Brian Ziff.