Watch: The Magnetic Fields share video for new track ‘The Day the Politicians Died,’ announce new album ‘Quickies’

'Quickies' is set for release on May 15

The Magnetic Fields have announced a new album called Quickies, and as part of the announcement, they’ve shared a video for their new track “The Day the Politicians Died.”

The new album, which will be released across five separate vinyl EPs on May 15th, features 28 short tracks by Stephin Merritt that all clock in at less than three minutes.

“I’ve been reading a lot of very short fiction, and I enjoyed writing 101 Two-Letter Words, the poetry book about the shortest words you can use in Scrabble,” Merritt explains of the album’s concept. “And I’ve been listening to a lot of French baroque harpischord music. Harpischord doesn’t lend itself to languor. So I’ve been thinking about one instrument at a time, playing for about a minute or so and then stopping, and I’ve been thinking of narratives that are only a few lines long.”

Watch the video for “The Day the Politicians Died” and check out the tracklist for Quickies below.