Watch: U.S. Girls and Ice Cream member Jane Inc. shares video for new single ‘Gem,’ announces debut album

'Number One' is set for release on March 19, 2021

Jane Inc., the new project of U.S. Girls, Ice Cream, and Darlene Shrugg’s Carlyn Bezic, has announced her debut album Number One, which is set for release on March 19th via Telephone Explosion. As part of the announcement, she’s shared a video for her debut single “Gem.”

The record sees Bezic straying from any other project she’s done in the past, writing and producing the early tracks for the album all on her one by layering multiple instruments on top of samples and drum breaks. “I think a lot of the songs on the album deal with how we form ourselves and how that gets fragmented and complicated by the societal structures we interact with,” Bezic explains.

The first single “Gem” sees Bezic singing of the online personalities we create for ourselves, and the ways in which we become them in real life. “‘Gem’ is about surrendering to the identity we form through the images we post online,” Bezic continues. “It’s a process that’s disturbing and liberating, with its own glittery beauty, like rays of light breaking into pieces against a disco ball.”

Watch the video for “Gem” and check out the tracklist for Number One below.

Number One Tracklist:

01 – “Gem”
02 – “Steel”
03 – “Faceless, Bodiless”
04 – “Dirt and The Earth”
05 – “Bloom Becomes Me”
06 – “My Oldest Friend”
07 – “His, Mine”
08 – “Obliterated”
Lead photo courtesy of Andrew McGill.