HomeMusicWaxahatchee covers Woody Guthrie's 'Talkin' Dust Bowl Blues' for new compilation

Waxahatchee covers Woody Guthrie’s ‘Talkin’ Dust Bowl Blues’ for new compilation

Waxahatchee has covered Woody Guthrie’s “Talkin’ Dust Bowl Blues” for a new compilation project.

The cover comes from Home In This World: Woody Guthrie’s Dust Bowl Ballads. It was announced with the Secret Sisters’ cover of “Dust Cain’t Kill Me,” which is out next month via Elektra. The collection will also feature covers from Shovels & Rope, Lillie Mae, John Paul White, Swamp Dogg, and many more. It’s curated by Randall Poster in celebration of the album’s 81st anniversary.

Waxahatchee’s take on the 1940 Dust Bowl Ballads track comes packed with intimate bedroom pop-style guitars. She adds a distinctive twang to the stream-of-consciousness lyrics, while giving it more of a modern twist. Waxahatchee’s country cover is a must-listen, offering a new twist to the Woody Guthrie classic while staying true to its original sound.

Listen to Waxahatchee’s cover of “Talkin’ Dust Bowl Blues” below.

“Woody Guthrie’s Dust Bowl Ballads is as relevant as ever,” Poster explains. “While profiteers exploit our natural resources, there is a growing sensitivity to the harsh farming practices that put our well-being at risk and a concerted movement toward regenerative agriculture that can reinvigorate the soil and push back on climate change.”

Home In This World is set for release in partnership with nonprofit Kiss The Ground. Kiss The Ground advocates for regenerative agriculture practices.

Check out the tracklist for Home In This World below.

Home In This World: Woody Guthrie’s Dust Bowl Ballads Tracklist:

01 – Shovels & Rope – “Dust Bowl Blues”
02 – Lost Dog Street Band – “I Ain’t Got No Home In This World Anymore”
03 – Watkins Family Hour – “Blowin’ Down This Road”
04 – John Paul White – “Pretty Boy Floyd”
05 – Lee Ann Womack – “Dusty Old Dust”
06 – Colter Wall – “Do Re Mi”
07 – Waxahatchee – “Talkin Dust Bowl Blues”
08 – Chris Thile – “Tom Joad Part 1”
09 – Lillie Mae – “Tom Joad Part 2”
10 – The Felice brothers – “The Great Dust Storm”
11 – The Secret Sisters – “Dust Cain’t Kill Me”
12 – Swamp Dogg – “Dust Bowl Refugee”
13 – Mark Lanegan – “Dust Pneumonia Blues”
14 – Parker Millsap – “Vigilante Man”

Home In This World: Woody Guthrie’s Dust Bowl Ballads is out on September 10th. Pre-order it here.

[Read More] Jess Williamson and Waxahatchee’s Katie Crutchfield team up for new project Plains, share ‘Problem with It’

Most Popular