HomeNew ReleasesBest New IndieYour First Listen: 11 songs you need to discover this week

Your First Listen: 11 songs you need to discover this week

It’s time for Your First Listen, where we show you songs you need to discover this week!

Each week we feature five remarkable songs that you need to hear on Your First Listen on air. In case you miss them on air, you can catch up on the weekly tracks right here. Your First Listen airs Monday to Friday during the following times: 1:50pm / 6:50pm / 8:50pm.

Online, we expand the list with a couple more tunes. This week, we’ve gotten some amazing fresh cuts from Holy Fuck, Harry Styles, Faye Webster, and more.

Check out 11 songs you need to discover this week below.

Holy Fuck – “Ninety Five”

Toronto’s Holy Fuck are back with a new single, “Ninety Five.” Today’s release marks the band’s first new music since their 2020 album, Deleter. “Ninety Five” is a rollicking instrumental post-punk anthem. Holy Fuck are not playing around on this new tune, with crashing, perfectly chaotic instrumentals. With gritty, brooding guitar lines; ominous, pulsing synths; and distorted, fuzzed out percussion, Holy Fuck are back and better than ever. All-in-all “Ninety Five” boasts such heavy echoes and crazy instrumentals that you’ll find yourself revisiting it again and again.

Harry Styles – “As It Was”

Harry Styles is back with a video for his 80s synth-pop-influenced single, “As It Was.” Co-written by Kid Harpoon and Tyler Johnson, the song is an upbeat anthem. Lyrically, Styles delivers lines like, “Answer the phone/ Harry, you’re no good alone/ Why are you sitting at home on the floor?/ What kind of pills are you on?” In the accompanying video, Styles performs some captivating choreo in a red leotard.

Faye Webster – “Car Therapy”

Atlanta singer-songwriter Faye Webster has announced a new EP, Car Therapy Sessions, out April 29th via Secretly Canadian. Alongside the announcement, she’s shared a video for its title track. The stunning, orchestral instrumentals add a new dimension to Webster’s signature raspy vocal lines. With beautiful wind instruments and enchanting strings, Webster’s soft vocals take the lead. Lyrically, Webster delivers lines like, “Every Tuesday, I’ll be in the driveway/ Talking to a stranger for some help.”

Anyway Gang – “Reckless Reckless”

Canadian supergroup Anyway Gang have shared their new single, “Reckless Reckless.” The new tune comes on the heels of the announcement of their sophomore album, Still Anyways, out May 6th via Royal Mountain Records. The track is an earworm that blends Tokyo Police Club’s Dave Monks, Sloan’s Chris Murphy, Hollerado’s Menno Versteeg, and Sam Roberts’ signature sounds perfectly. The accompanying video is a nostalgic clip with home footage documenting each of the four artists’ careers.

Georgia Harmer – “Top Down”

Toronto musician Georgia Harmer has shared a video for her new single, “Top Down.” The track comes from her upcoming debut album, Stay In Touch, out April 22nd via Arts & Crafts. “Top Down” is a cathartic tune that is perfect for a drive down the open road. Lyrically, Harmer sings of feeling insignificant atop driven percussion and gritty guitars. The accompanying self-directed retro video for the tune follows Harmer as she wanders through a closed down theme park on Toronto Island.

Jack Johnson – “One Step Ahead”

Jack Johnson is back with a new song, “One Step Ahead.” The track comes alongside the announcement of Meet The Moonlight, out June 24th via Brushfire/Republic Records. Johnson has made the album alongside Blake Mills. “When Blake and I first got in touch we’d send each other playlists, and over time we realized we were drawn to music that sounds effortless despite all the effort put into making it,” Johnson explains. “After a while we got a language together and I gained a trust in him that allowed me to let go, push outside my comfort zone, and get to a sound I really loved.”

The Weeknd – “Out Of Time”

The Weeknd’s “Out Of Time” is a standout from his most recent album, Dawn FM. The Weeknd calls the album a “sonic experience.” Dawn FM serves as the follow-up to 2020’s explosive hit, After Hours. The 16-track, collab-heavy collection features contributions from Tyler, the Creator, Lil Wayne, Quincy Jones, Oneohtrix Point Never, and Jim Carrey. The record welcomes listeners into the “painless transition” of the great beyond. All in all, the record is definitely more of a dance-worthy collection than its predecessor.

Kikagaku Moyo – “Cardboard Pile”

Japanese psych-rockers Kikagaku Moyo have detailed their final album, Kumoyo Island, out May 6th via their own label, Guruguru Brain. They’ve previewed the collection with “Cardboard Pile.” After the release of Kumoyo Island, Kikagaku Moyo will go on an indefinite hiatus, so every release is pretty special, including the new “Cardboard Pile.” On the album, and the new single, the band return to their roots. “Cardboard Pile” is the perfect preview of this sound, serving as a trippy journey through psychedelic soundscapes. Alongside the track, Kikagaku Moyo have shared an animated video from Katsushika Susshin. The captivating clip features colourful, dreamy animations as it takes you on a journey through time and space.

Interpol – “Toni”

Interpol have returned with a video for their new single, “Toni.” The track comes on the heels of their freshly announced album, The Other Side of Make-Believe, out July 15th via Matador. On the album, Interpol are set to explore new sonic territory. Throughout the track, the band explores “the sinister undercurrents of contemporary life,” a press release explains. “Toni” serves as the opening track to Interpol’s 7th studio album. Alongside the single, Interpol have shared a one piece of a two-part dance film directed by Van Alpert. In the clip, frontman Paul Banks stands on the sidelines of a pretty epic dance battle. The second chapter is set to follow very soon.

Ellevator – “Party Trick”

Hamilton trio Ellevator are back with a new single, “Party Trick.” “Party Trick” is an intimate ballad, revolving around atmospheric instrumentals, pulsing keys, and emotive vocal lines. “A friend said to me that being in a band means never growing up,” frontwoman Nabi Sue Bersche explains of “Party Trick.” “It’s easy to feel like Peter Pan on tour, all the trappings of adulthood a hundred track stops and a thousand miles in the rearview. I started writing this song to my teenage self: a flighty, insecure kid posturing confidence. I’d jump around to all the different cliques like a self-styled Ferris Bueller, leaving just before friendships could settle in. Being on the road brought out those same old tendencies: keep it all on the level, don’t go too deep. Driving down the highway, floating through the hall/ Everything is different, nothing’s changed at all.”

Father John Misty – “Goodbye Mr. Blue”

Josh Tillman has released a new track as Father John Misty, “Goodbye Mr. Blue.” The track comes from his new album Chloë and The Next 20th Century. Featuring production from his longtime collaborator, Jonathan Wilson, the swirling single is an emotional acoustic ballad. With 70s-tinged guitar lines and wounded vocals, “Goodbye Mr. Blue” is a vulnerable, melancholic tune. The track sees Tillman singing of forcing himself to get out of bed because it could be the last time he does so. Throughout “Goodbye Mr. Blue,” Tillman delivers emotive lines like, “Love’s always gonna leave ya/ No matter what they say/ You only know what it is/ Once it’s gone away.”

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Most Popular