Your First Listen: 11 songs you need to discover this week

Image via Artist

It’s time for Your First Listen, where we show you songs you need to discover this week!

This Indie88 feature is presented with Bay Bloor Radio.

Each week we feature five remarkable songs that you need to hear on Your First Listen on air. In case you miss them on air, you can catch up on the weekly tracks right here. Your First Listen airs every day in Indie88 beginning at 10 a.m.

Online, we expand the list with a couple more tunes. This week, we’re highlighting new music from The New Pornographers, Paramore, Yo La Tengo, and more.

Check out 11 songs you need to discover this week below.

The New Pornographers – “Really Really Light”

The New Pornographers return with the first new single since 2019’s ‘In The Morse Code Of Break Lights,” while also sharing the announcement of a new album. New record Continue As a Guest arrives March 31 via Merge.

Red Hot Chili Peppers- “The Drummer”

“The Drummer” is the latest single from veteran rockers Red Hot Chili Peppers to takeover the airwaves.

Blair Lee – “Peachy World”

Toronto-based singer-songwriter Blair Lee’s “Peachy World” from her debut EP The Puppy Game graced Indie88’s airwaves this week.

Art d’Ecco – “Midlife Crisis”

“Midlife Crisis” is the latest single from Art d’Ecco’s third album in four years, After The Head Rush.

Belle and Sebastian – “I Don’t Know What You See In Me”

Scottish indie-pop outfit Belle and Sebastian have returned with a follow-up to last year’s A Bit of Previous, with the release of a new record Late Developers this week.

Tearing Up – “Moonbeams”

“Moonbeams” is the latest release from Tearing Up, the project of musician and creative artist Graham Caldwell, who returns with his debut LP, Heavy on January 27.


Gabrielle Shonk – “Aftertaste”

Gabrielle Shonk has shared “Aftertaste.” The single is taken from Shonk’s forthcoming sophomore album, out early next year

Fucked Up – “I Think I Might Be Weird”

Fucked Up return with “I Think I Might Be Weird,” from the Canadian hardcore band’s sixth studio album One Day, which is due for release on January 27 via Merge.

Yo La Tengo – “Aselestine”

“Aseletine” is the second single from indie outfit Yo La Tengo’s new album, This Stupid World, arriving February 10 via Matador.

Doug Paisley – “Sometimes It’s So Easy”

The second single from the acclaimed songwriter’s Afie Jurvanan (Bahamas) produced LP Say What You Like, out March 17 via Outside Music. “This is a song for the leaving kind and the left behind, at the moment when one can seem so cold and cruel and the other so wounded,” says Paisley.

Paramore – “C’est Comme Ça”

Paramore have shared a third single from their highly-anticipated forthcoming album. This Is Why is out February 10.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here